Summer Update – School, training, and OOfos

It’s been a couple of weeks since my last post, which I feel slightly bad about, but it was also for a good reason. My Masters program has classes year round and I’ve been feeling a little burnt out the past few weeks. I was working on a major project/paper and when I would stop working on the computer for the day, I didn’t have any ambition to keep staring at the screen to produce a blog post. Seriously, your eyes get tired and brain a little fried after reading so much research and then trying to write about it!

Anyway, I submitted that major paper and got to enjoy 3 whole days not writing or reading or contemplating research and it was nice. But, now I am back at it and on Wednesday I start my 10 day school intensive, which involves full 8-hour days of lectures, presentations, etc., as well as additional projects and papers to complete in our “spare time”. It will be incredibly interesting and helpful, but also a bit overwhelming for this introvert. I am looking forward to it, but also can’t wait for my 3 week summer vacation (from school, not work) to start on August 12!! And it’s nice because I’ll be starting it with SeaWheeze!!! I think that’s an awesome way to close out the first year of my Masters program. πŸ™‚

YogiCrystal Calgary

Having fun at the Glenmore Reservoir πŸ™‚

In between all of this, I have been TRYING to get my running back on track since the Canada Day hiking incident. Last weekend my leg seemed to be doing worse and I got a little worried. So, I’ve been taking it a bit more easy on the running and mixing it up with some cycling and water running. I feel silly in the pool because I can’t really swim, but I know I need to keep moving and I want to keep my strength up as much as I can. Right now I am trying to keep one non-running day in between my training runs to give my leg a break from the impact, because honestly, I am doing SeaWheeze.

Over the past week, my leg seems to be feeling slightly better, and I was even able to complete a 16KM long run on Sunday at a good pace (for me) without much pain. This is exciting!! I think at this point, it’s just important not to overdo it and stay fit for my half marathon on August 12th.

Something else I found helpful after my long run yesterday, was to put on my new OOfos sandals right away! Seriously, these are super comfortable and they felt really good to put on after wearing my running shoes all morning. I have the OOlala sandal and I find them comfy and cute! Another great feature is that they absorb up to 37% more shock than other shoe materials, so that’s a bonus after a long run! I’m really glad to have these in my footwear rotation and I’ll definitely be updating ya’ll with a full blog review in the next week or so (keep an eye out here!).

Oofos Sandals Bibrave Ambassador

Love my OOfos!

Do you have a favourite pair of shoes or sandals that you like to wear right after a long run or hard workout?

ps. Where has the summer gone? Can’t believe it’s August already!

Disclaimer: I received a pair of OOfos sandals to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to find and write race reviews!

Leave a Reply

