Meditation Monday Recap

On Monday, I attended my very first meditation class. Yep, even though I have done (and trained in) lots of yoga classes, workshops, and seminars, this was the first time I went to a meditation specific class. And honestly, I was a little nervous.

I received a free class pass from the YYC Run Crew & Lululemon 4th Street for Modern + Mindful, which is a relatively new meditation studio located in the Beltline of Calgary. I only had the pass for a couple of weeks, but I finally decided to go. Coincidentally, I am working on a big project/paper for one of my counselling summer courses that involves mindfulness, so I thought this would be a great opportunity to experience a class from both a personal and professional level.

So yes, I did say I was a little nervous about going. Seems funny to write that down, but that’s the truth. Thoughts that ran through my head… what if I can’t meditate? What if my mind runs wild? What if I experience some anxiety? What if I fall asleep?

Modern Mindful Calgary Meditation

Time to meditate ❤

Seriously, it seems like a crazy amount of questions to ask yourself before a meditation class.

Once I arrived at the studio, the lovely teacher showed me and another newbie around the space and gave us sort of an intro to meditation and the different sitting options. Right away I felt comfortable and at ease in this beautiful space. It’s set up quite nicely to give you moment of relaxation before class starts.

In class, I chose the Alexia Chair and got myself comfortable. The teacher (Sally Powis-Campbell) played some lovely background music and started to guide us through some visualization and breathing tips to help us bring our mind back to the present. I don’t actually remember a lot of what she said during the class, so I am hoping that is a good thing.

Did my mind wander? Of course. Was I able to bring it back to the teacher’s voice and music? Yes. I’ll be honest though, this was difficult. I often choose guided meditation at home and I lay down on my mat, so seated meditation started to get challenging for me. My back hurt a little bit, and I tried not to focus on it. At one point, I felt hot sitting there… so, I went back to breathing to take my mind off that. At another point, I felt slightly anxious and wasn’t sure if I was going to cry or fall asleep. These were truly some interesting sensations that came up during the class.

Ultimately, the 30 minutes seemed to feel long & short at the same time. I’m not sure if that makes sense, but I did feel very relaxed and peaceful at the end of the session.

Modern Mindful Calgary

Trying my best… (also, ironic sign placement)

Overall, this was a lovely experience and I look forward to going to the studio again. The teacher was warm and welcoming and the space was inviting and relaxing. It’s the kind of place that makes you want to spend time there… it would be a good space to journal or reflect. My kind of space. Many of us could use a little mindfulness in our lives, so if you’re local, I encourage you to check out Modern + Mindful!

Have you attended a meditation class before? How was your experience?

2 thoughts on “Meditation Monday Recap

Leave a Reply

