Seeking: My Race Mojo for 2017

Is it possible to have the post-marathon blues for 5 months?

I’m not sure what’s up with me, but I haven’t been excited about racing lately. Don’t get me wrong, I have been training – lots – but, the big push to race hasn’t been there for me. Maybe I have the end of winter blues spilling over as well, but I’m hoping to get the racing bug back soon!

I ran a 10K in Halifax recently, and I have a half-marathon at the end of May, which I’m looking forward to, but wouldn’t say I’m super excited about it. I could be nervous… but, not really realizing it. At this point, I want to PB my half marathon time and maybe the added pressure is causing me a little anxiety. What if I don’t PB? How will I feel after training pretty hard this winter? These are some big unknowns for me that I probably shouldn’t dwell on too much.

YogiCrystal Running 2017

Part of me also thinks that some of these “blues” is because I don’t have a marathon picked for this year. I decided to only run one this year, but I still haven’t chosen where or when I want to run it. The options around where I live are pretty slim, so I know I’ll have to travel. I have an idea in mind, but I just need to see if I can make it work. I’m also pretty sure that I won’t be doing any travel or running in the U.S. this year because of the dollar exchange rate, so that has me checking out Canadian races for the fall. Lots to think about and I certainly need a plan at this point!

Last year was such an exciting year of running for me, with completing my first – and second! – marathon and travelling to Hawaii for the first time. It almost seems too hard to top for this year, but maybe that shouldn’t be the goal. This year seems like a nice time to work on my half-marathon goals and really start getting a stronger base for marathon running and my long-term BQ goal. Maybe this isn’t the “blues”… it’s just different and I need to take a moment to really enjoy it. Let’s hope the Calgary Half Marathon really pumps me up and helps me work towards some bigger goals for the rest of 2017! 🙂

Anyone else seeking their race mojo? What techniques have you used to find it or get it back? 

Leave a Reply

