Saucony Peregrine ICE+ Review and Thoughts

Since I’ve become a bit more serious about running, I now spend more time doing training runs outside all year round. I also spend more time b*tching about it throughout the whole winter too… just ask my bf! So, when Saucony Canada sent me a pair of the Peregrine ICE+ I was beyond excited.

Saucony Peregrine ICE

All new & shiny!

Normally, I run through all different types of winter weather in my regular running shoes. Snow, slush, rain, sleet, wind, cold, whatever – I was using my regular running shoes and burning them out pretty quick. I don’t usually have a problem with cold feet, so this worked most of the time… except for when my feet got wet. Running in heavy rain and slush always caused me to get wet feet, but I just dealt with it and kept going. People thought I was crazy, but I often felt overwhelmed by the amount of trail and winter running shoe options that I just didn’t take the time to sit in a store and try them all on. So, I was pleasantly surprised when these shoes showed up in my mailbox. And, I actually didn’t try them right away because Calgary had a pretty mild winter right up to the middle of December, but since then winter has been crazy and I’ve been running in these shoes most of the time.

First, I’ll say that I love these shoes. I’m picky about shoes, so this was kind of a surprise. Second, I haven’t had cold or wet feet all winter yet, and I’ve been able to maintain close to my regular pace when running over snow and ice. Definitely happy about that! Last, I actually think they look pretty cool too. Not too flashy or dull, perfect look for winter and trail running.

Calgary Saucony Peregrine Ice

You can’t tell, but it was freezing cold this day!

Now, down to the nitty gritty info:

Pros

– Vibram ยฎ Arctic Grip in high contact areas of the sole – this has been awesome for reducing the amount of ice/snow slippage when I’m out running on local pathways and sidewalks, excellent traction.

– Flexshell-protected upper – keeping my feet warm and dry all winter (it’s water resistant!). I’ve run in slush, strong winds, and a snowstorm and my feet were the only part of my body that were warm!

– Women’s colour blue/black actually look pretty cool… see my pics ๐Ÿ˜‰

– Saucony EVERUN in the heel – more comfy for when I heel strike… don’t lie, we all do it!

– Apparently there’s a rock plate in these, which is great for trail runners. As a roadrunner, I haven’t taken these on the trails yet, but thought I would still point it out. Also, don’t really notice it as I find these shoes quite comfortable and flexible.

Cons

– Some might find the price point a little high for a pair of running/trail shoes, but after all the great runs I’ve experienced in these this winter, I’m thinking it’s worth it. Keep an eye out at your local running store for sales if you’re budget conscious and looking to grab a pair.

Specs from the Saucony site:

– Pronation : neutral
– Cushion : responsive
– Type : trail
– Surface : ice, trail, grass (I’ve run with these on grass, love it!)
– Water resistant : yes (but not classified as waterproof)
– Offset / “drop” : 4mm
– Heel stack height : 21.55mm
– Forefoot stack height : 17.55mm
– Weight 8.5oz / 241g.

Saucony Peregrine Ice snow

Do you have a favourite shoe for winter running? Have you tried these yet?ย 

 

Disclaimer: Saucony Canada sent me these shoes, but did not ask me to write a review or anything like that. I just wanted to share with you how much I’ve enjoyed these shoes throughout many different winter conditions. You can check out where else I’ve taken these shoes on my Instagram. ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

5 thoughts on “Saucony Peregrine ICE+ Review and Thoughts

Leave a Reply

