2016 Musings and Review

If you’ve been following along my blogging and social media journey, you know that my 2015 closed out with some major life challenges. At the time, I didn’t place a lot of hope on to 2016 purely because I wasn’t in the best state mentally. I decided to try not to put too much pressure on myself and to keep trudging on until I worked through some things. I did what I thought was my best to get through the tough times with a focus on the positive aspects starting 2016 – such as my planned trip to California for my second Star Wars Half Marathon at Disneyland. Honestly, that trip at the start of the year may have been the biggest thing to pull me through the tough times and the winter blues. After January, 2016 still proved to be a challenging year, but there were definitely some positive aspects that I’m hoping to reflect on now.

Manoa Falls 2016

Pondering life at Manoa Falls ๐Ÿ™‚

The rest of winter was mostly mild, so I was able to keep up my running training early 2016 in preparation for my first marathon in May. I ran the Run for L’Arche 21.1K pretty well, followed by the fun Eyeball the Wall 30K. Enjoyed the atmosphere and location of this race – plus, it’s budget conscious and you still get a cool medal!

Once the 30K was done I got locked in for the final weeks of training for the Calgary Marathon. Let me tell you, this wasn’t easy. You might remember my posts on Instagram leading up to the race – both victories and challenges all shared there during training. Overall, the race was an awesome experience and I had a great time, while also learning some things about myself. ย I did not achieve my time goal, but there were some good takeaways from that race. After the marathon, I took it a little easy and tried biking more in the summer which was refreshingly fun. Did some challenging rides with the boyfriend, which boosted my spirits and got me back & focused on running/training for my second marathon – Honolulu!

In the summer I was also very lucky to have a friend join me on my birthday for a fun run just outside of the city – the Millerville 8 Miler. I miss the fun of running with others (Nike 15K in 2015 being one of my fave memories), so I was extremely grateful that Kim joined me. Great atmosphere, fun crowds, and even cinnamon buns on the route for the brave people! In June I also had a quick trip to Toronto for a friend’s wedding and saw some of those runner friends I missed. Great times and I hope to go back soon.

In August, I popped out to Halifax to visit home for a quick trip. I hadn’t been home in the summer since I moved away and it was so lovely. Actually, compared to Calgary, it was hot! And, I loved it! Calgary had a mild winter and a milder summer, so escaping to Halifax for summer and family time was nice.

The start of fall brought on some major changes. I started the first semester of my Masters program and training for the Honolulu Marathon. University and marathon training you ask? Yes, why not! This brought on some new challenges, mostly with time management but I feel I did pretty well. I still have to complete my marathon recap blog post, but the semester did go quite well despite some stress… err, lots of stress. ๐Ÿ™‚

December was quite busy with work, finishing up the semester, and travelling to Honolulu for the big race. Somehow I got through it all still smiling and here we are on the first day of 2017 ready to rock with new goals and a new focus. I don’t have my race calendar complete yet, but this year I’m hoping to work on getting faster as a build towards my long term goal of qualifying for Boston. Lots of work to do, but I’m going to give it my best shot.ย 

Overall, 2016 was a steady year with the usual ups & downs, but I did my best to stay focused on the goals in front of me. That’s all we can do in time like these, right?

YogiCrystal New Year

Happy New Year!

2016 Quick Rundown:

– Star Wars Half – California – 1 quick day in San Francisco

– Run for L’Arche 21.1K

– Eyeball the Wall 30K

– Calgary Marathon – first marathon!

– Trip to Toronto

– Millerville 8 Miler on my birthday

– Trip to Halifax

– Dino Dash 10 K – got a PB!!

– Started Masters degree

– Harvest Half 21.1K – DNS, terrible weather, didn’t want to risk getting sick

– Honolulu Marathon – second marathon, got a PB!

– Second year travelling to the Atlantic & Pacific oceans! (Miss the ocean everyday)

– Total KMs ran = 1538 (416 KM more than in 2015!)

How was your 2016? Any big takeaways?

Leave a Reply

