Honolulu Marathon Final Training Week

Yes, this is post is delayed. Thank you for noticing. πŸ˜‰

I can’t believe the big day has come and gone – how time flies! I couldn’t really bring myself to stop & sit down to write a post while in Honolulu, so here I am now trying to play catch up. I admire bloggers who can sit and write on the go, but that’s not always the case for me. I’m old school… I like to sit at a computer and write, see the whole picture kind of thing. Β When I do posts on my phone, I miss a major typo or something. How embarrassing!

Diamond Head Honolulu 2016

The view from Diamond Head is outstanding!

Here’s how my final week of training went:

Monday – rest day

Tuesday – run : 35 mins on the treadmill (it was -29C/-20F outside!)

Wednesday – most of the day spent in airports and on planes travelling to Honolulu! Does airport walking count as cross-training?

Thursday – run : 3.5 KM up to Diamond Head trail, hiked up & down. Also, visited race expo (so, A LOT of walking).

Friday – run : 3 KM easy, it was hot! (for me, since I left wintery Calgary) + lots of walking

Saturday – rest/walking – tried to take it easy because my legs were a little sore from all the walking and touring around. Maybe not my smartest move, but I wanted to see the sights! Took an Epsom salt bath in the evening and went to bed EARLY.

Sunday – RACE DAY!!! And of course, details will come in a future post. πŸ™‚

Total KMs = 54.57

Honolulu Marathon Trolley 2016

I’m on a trolley! Going to the expo! πŸ˜€

There you have it. The last few days leading up to the marathon. I was glad to get the 2 short runs done, so that I could experience the Honolulu temperatures before the marathon. All the extra hiking and walking may not have helped my case, but you know how it is when you’re in a new place. You want to see all the things. This was seriously a very exciting time for me as I was never really sure if I would visit Hawaii in my life. Now I am glad that I did and I’d love to go again sometime! I only saw around Honolulu and it’s beautiful! Also, I found the people to be quite friendly and of course it’s nice being by the beach.

I’m sure I’ll have lots more to say once I process all my thoughts. Keep your eyes out here for the upcoming Honolulu Marathon race recap!! (Hopefully sooner than later haha)

Do you like to take it easy before the big day on a race-cation? Or, do you see all the things and deal with any consequences later?

One thought on “Honolulu Marathon Final Training Week

Leave a Reply

