Honolulu Training Week 18

The time is here! Only 4 days till the Honolulu Marathon! 

Am I feeling ready? I think so. 

I waiver between nervous and super excited approx 20 times a day. Sometimes I wonder if I’m crazy for wanting to run another marathon… it’s debatable, right? 😉 


Here’s how Week 18 went:

Monday – rest/walking/ swim : kicking 200 m 

Tuesday – run : 45 mins – 6 x 1 min speed intervals, 1 min recovery. Got race bib # today!! 

Wednesday – rest 

Thursday – run : 42 mins – afternoon run, didn’t feel great but got it done

Friday – run : 30 mins – weather starting to get chilly for morning runs   

Saturday – rest

Sunday – run : 11 KM long run – felt pretty good, even in the cold & snow. Heavy snow for last 2K, so I took it easy. 

Total KMs = 31.76

As you can see, it was a pretty easy taper Week. I was glad for the shorter runs because I had so much school work to do. Tried my best to eat well and sleep more, but sleep has been escaping me lately. Might be nerves or I just can’t stop thinking at night. Lots on the go = mind always on the run! 

Although I’m nervous, I know that I’m super excited for the race. I just need to get settled in & go for an easy run in Honolulu to get my mind ready. Currently trying not to put too much pressure on myself, but that’s always challenging. Have to keep in mind that I can do this, but also be conscious of how the warmer weather may affect me. I just have to go in with a good full heart, ready to run and have a fun day with thousands of other people! 

Do you get nervous before a big race? Tips for relaxing?

(Note: I typed & posted this on my phone… please excuse any typos. The weirdness is intended. 😉 )

Uncategorized

One thought on “Honolulu Training Week 18

Leave a Reply

