Honolulu Marathon Training Week 17

Not a lot to say about this past week, except WOOHOO TAPER TIME!!!

🙂

I actually enjoyed this past training week and maybe took it a little too easy. I blame all the papers and assignments I have to write. Seriously, right now I should be writing… well, I am, but I mean writing other stuff. Scholarly stuff.

Can you tell I’m freaking out about the end of the term and the marathon being only 1.5 weeks away?!

Also, we received our bib numbers yesterday!! So, this is getting real.

YogiCrystal Nov Run

Happy for sun!

Here’s how week 17 went:

Monday – rest day / got a pre-race massage

Tuesday – run : 45 mins – 6 x 1 min strides, weather is getting cold!

Wednesday – rest / school work day

Thursday – run : 45 mins – Fartlek run, good pace

Friday – worked Black Friday, so no running

Saturday – worked all day, super exhausted

Sunday – run : 1 hour, 45 mins long run – good pace, felt good, really nice morning. Pretty happy with this run overall and feeling ready for the marathon!

Total KMs for the week: 34.3

Total KMs for November: 162.7

As you can see, it was a pretty easy week. I probably should have done another run or cross training workout, but full days of busy work on Fri & Sat really took a lot out of me. Also, felt good to get a pre-race, taper-time massage – getting these legs ready for the big day!

So far the taper is going well… I think. No going crazy or wishing I was running more, but this might be because of all the school work I have to do. Just doing my best to take it easy, get work done, and find time to plan my trip. One thing I do notice though, is that I’m hungry hungry hungry. Running less, but still hungry? Is this normal? 🙂

Do you enjoy taper time or find you go crazy?

7 thoughts on “Honolulu Marathon Training Week 17

  1. Just stumbled across your blog while I was doing some (more) Honolulu Marathon research! I’ll be running as well. Looking forward to an amazing race!

Leave a Reply

