Honolulu Marathon Training Week 15

Another week has flown by! And, it just occurred to me that at this time in 3 weeks I will be on a plane headed for Honolulu…

… Cue freak out in 3… 2… 1…Β 

All kidding aside, I am super excited but also a bit overwhelmed with what I have to get done over the next 3 weeks. I’m not sure what caused me to think that it would be ok to start my first semester of my master’s, while also working, and training for a marathon. I must have been temporarily insane… Or, just very motivated. Either way, here I am and the big day is getting closer and closer! I have 4 papers to write, so I better get to this week’s recap fast! πŸ™‚

YogiCrystal Long Run 2016

Seriously matchy matchy here!

Monday – rest day

Tuesday – run : 60 mins – 10 min warm up, 6 x 1 KM tempo, 2 min recovery, 10 min cool down (Ran in a t-shirt & shorts!! Yes, I have to document the fact that I was able to wear a t-shirt & shorts in Calgary in November!)

Wednesday – rest / work

Thursday – run : 30 mins – easy pace

Friday – run : 45 mins – 6 x 1 min hill bursts, 1 min recovery

Saturday – rest day / work

Sunday – work – had to move long run to Monday

Monday – run : 31 KM long run – I hadn’t struggled too much on a long run in awhile, so I was due. This run was certainly challenging and I’m not totally sure why. The weather was nice and I was only a little bit nervous, so I can’t put the blame there. For the first 60 mins I listened to comedy, which was a nice change but somewhat difficult to maintain a good pace. Sometimes I almost tripped over myself when laughing too hard. I may not do this again, but it was good to try something new. Overall, my pace just wasn’t where I wanted to be, but damn am I proud of myself for getting all the KMs of this one done!

Total KMs = 54.06

Some of you may know that I’ve been an Ambassador for Momentum Jewelry, so I am happy to announce that I am on board for another year! I’m incredibly pumped about this opportunity because I love their motivational jewelry so much. You have no idea how many times it has helped me to look down at the Motivate Wrap on my wrist to repeat the mantra imprinted on the plate. You should definitely check them out and also keep an eye on my blog and Instagram for possible future giveaway opportunities. *wink wink* πŸ™‚

Momentum Jewelry Ambassador

Have you ever listened to books, podcasts, or comedy on your long runs? How did it go?

2 thoughts on “Honolulu Marathon Training Week 15

  1. I don’t listen to anything when I run. I used to but since having kids I just want time to not listen to anything and just think, haha! Wow, 31km…I can’t even think about running that distance. Better to have a bad 31km run now then on race day. You’ve got this!

    • Thank you!! Totally understandable about not wanting to listen to music. I find it motivates me most runs, but some mornings I don’t listen to anything but nature and it’s refreshing! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

