Honolulu Marathon Training Week 12

Just under 7 weeks till the Honolulu Marathon! Time to freak out now, right?! Nawww, just kidding… πŸ˜‰ Though, it is time to start thinking about what I’m going to do when I get there and also what I’ll be wearing for the race. Dress up in something fun or keep it practical so that I am prepared for the weather? I guess we’ll see…

Here’s how my week went:

Monday – rest / light walking

Tuesday – run : 30 mins – didn’t really want to run, but got my butt out the door somehow.

Wednesday – cross train : elliptical 40 mins – tried to do some leg strength exercises again and had some really intense hamstring pain in my right leg. Going to hold off on this for now.

Thursday – run : 60 mins – 2 x 15 min tempo in the middle of the run

Friday – run : 30 mins – good pace, easy run

Saturday – rest

Sunday – run : 25 KM long run – This long run actually went pretty well, which has me pleasantly surprised and feeling good! I ran a mostly new route, so I think that helped the time to fly by… I didn’t start ruminating about how much I wanted to go home till around 22K. That’s a big deal for me! πŸ™‚ I had a little bit of left ankle pain, but mostly felt good and just enjoyed the whole morning of running. I even ran the last 6K without any music! Mileage is really amping up now!

Total KMs = 46.22

Grumpy Runner Run Calgary

Looking pretty grumpy about my Tuesday run πŸ˜›

The long run mileage is really getting up there now and I usually find myself being nervous the day before. I worry about getting bored or if my mental game will be strong. I know that I can do the run physically, but my mental game sometimes is a real struggle. I’m glad this week that I didn’t have many issues with this and I just ran and had fun. Nice change!

Thanks to Mud Hero & Deep Relief & GoodLife Fitness I received a pretty sweet care package of products to try out (pictured below). As an athlete, you hope that you won’t need to use these types of products often, but it’s good to have them for recovery just in case. The yoga mat, New Balance technical shirt, and handy carry-bag will definitely be used often – good thing blue is my fave colour! πŸ™‚ Deep Relief & Mud Hero are actually teamed up to promote these events around Canada, so check out their site and sign up for one of these fun & crazy events in 2017!

Deep Relief Mud Hero

How do you calm the running mental game while training?Β 

Leave a Reply

