Honolulu Marathon Training Week 11

Week 11 already?! Wow, time is flying. This race is coming up fast and I still have so much planning and training to do. I’m super excited of course, but also a little nervous. I guess that’s normal as you build up towards a marathon!

Calgary Running St. Patricks Island

Am I tired? Need my sunglasses? πŸ˜‰

Here’s how the week went:

Monday – swim : 350 m kicking & hot tub for long run recovery

Tuesday – run : 30 mins – was supposed to be a hill workout, but I felt strange pains in my right ankle & calf, so I didn’t want to push it. Decided to switch up the plan and move hills to later in the week. Upper Body Strength 3 x (5 pushups, 10 crunches, 15 tricep dips)

Wednesday – elliptical : 30 mins; Lower Body Strength 3 x (10 lunges each leg, 15 squats)

Thursday – run : 45 mins random Fartlek – started to feel DOMS from yesterday’s strength (Oh no…)

Friday – elliptical : 30 mins & stretching/rolling (was supposed to run) – DOMS for real. Seriously learning a lesson here. I didn’t really want to notice my glutes this much.

Saturday – rest – to prepare for Sunday long run

Sunday – run : long run – 23 KM. This run was good and I certainly felt better than last week. It was also a couple of degrees warmer, so that may have helped. No wanting to cry… success! πŸ˜‰ I kind of wanted to stop running around 15 K, but convinced myself that there was only 8 K to go and that I couldn’t give up. Somehow that worked! My long run milage is getting up there, so I’m going to need some different motivations to get me through the tough parts.

So, what do you notice about this week? Well, I didn’t get that hill workout done. And my very simple leg strength workout caused me to have DOMS for 2 days. Seriously, 2 days! Tough lesson learned this week… DO MORE STRENGTH. Because of these DOMS, I definitely didn’t want to push a hill workout, so I feel a little guilty missing that. I did add some cross-training (elliptical), so that’s a plus!

This week I was also fortunate enough to give Energy Bits a try after my runs. Have you heard of them before? Well, they are these little tabs that are made of 100% natural organic spirulina algae. These little tabs are packed with a punch – 40 vitamins & minerals with only 1 calorie per tab! Energy Bits are easy to take on the go and are a great way to get healthy, clean energy for your workouts or just to get through your day. They also have Recovery Bits, which I like to add to my smoothie after a long run. You don’t even taste them! I’m a big fan because they’re so easy and they have so many health benefits. They’re paleo & vegan, and also provide a source of iron, antioxidants, vitamin c, and more. Seriously, check out the Energy Bits site (after reading this post!) for more information. They’re also pretty awesome to follow on Twitter. πŸ™‚

Energy Bits Recovery Bits

Yay for Bits!

What’s your preferred type of workout fuel?

And while we’re here, do you have a cure for DOMS? Β πŸ˜‰ Hahaha (You know, in case I do this again…)

2 thoughts on “Honolulu Marathon Training Week 11

Leave a Reply

