Honolulu Marathon Training Week 3

Week 3 done! And it’s almost September?! Wow. The Honolulu Marathon is still a few months away, but now it’s time to start thinking about a couple of local races that will help me build toward my marathon. Lots to do & plenty of training to focus on. You’re wondering how week 3 went? Well, let’s get down to it…

Monday – Rest

Tuesday – Bike approx 14 KM

Wednesday – Run : 45 mins (Fartlek – random & 1 big hill climb)
Strength : 3 x 5 pushups, 10 crunches, 15 squats

Thursday – Run : 8 KM, good pace, felt strong
Strength : 3 x 5 pushups, 10 crunches, 15 squats

Friday – Run : 45 mins speed work
10 min warm up
5 min approx 5:15~5:35 / KM, 1 min recovery
4 x 2 min approx 5:00~5:15 / KM, 1 min recovery
3 x 1:30 min approx 4:15~4:30 / KM, 1 min recovery
10 min cool down
Good workout, felt challenging in a good way. I was less cranky for this speed session. : )

Saturday – Rest

Sunday – Run : 14 KM long run

Total KMs = 37.54

Long run in the sun!

Long run in the sun!

This week I started some very light strength training exercises. It doesn’t seem like much, but I have to do a slow build to get my body used to it. Again, still not enough cross training. I am struggling to find the time for other activities and the next few weeks aren’t going to get much better. I do try to ride my bike, but the weather here has been quite unfavourable. Most days have thundershowers, etc and I am not a big fan of riding my bike in crazy weather. Hopefully I figure out a better plan for some cross training soon.

The next 2 weeks are going to be a little crazy for me, so the challenge will be to stick to my run plan as much as I can. Wish me luck!

Do you run when you travel? How do you stay on track?

3 thoughts on “Honolulu Marathon Training Week 3

  1. That looks like a pretty good week to me! I try to run when I travel, it’s fun running in new places (or back home). Sometimes I try to hook up with running groups/clubs or use the time to see the town/city that I’m visiting by foot (and by myself). Good luck!

Leave a Reply

