Thinking Out Loud on a Monday

I know, I know… Thinking Out Loud posts are usually scheduled for Thursdays, but I wanted to think ramble out loud today.ย My running motivation has been a little better over the past couple of weeks (life is still in chaos), so I thought it was a good time for an update. ๐Ÿ™‚

~ Starting week 3 of training for my first marathon with a rest day today… Ok, I lie. I might go to the gym later to shake out my legs on a stationary bike or something after yesterday’s 14.70KM (9.1 miles) long run. I’ve been a little nervous thinking about my first marathon, but so far training has been good. I can’t let thoughts about how long 42.2KM (26.2 miles) actually is get to me right now. Just focus on this week’s training and do the best I can. Still need to get my head around strength training and the best exercises for me in this case, but I have been doing better with low impact cross training on non-runs days with biking and yoga.

Calgary winter running

Looking at the open road ahead…

~ Been comparing myself to others on social media a little too much lately. Anyone else do this? I don’t know if it’s because my life is in a little bit of chaos right now or if there’s some other reason, but I need to cut it out. We all have our own stories and journeys and I need to keep my focus on mine. It’s tough in this day & age, ya know?

~ Got the opportunity from Fit Approach / Sweat Pink to try the new Manitoba Harvest Hemp Heart Bars. They sent 1 chocolate and 1 cinnamon bar, and I’ll be honest… I really only enjoy the chocolate bar (big surprise, right). I have purchased more of them since because I do believe they make a nice quick snack on the go or after a workout. Each bar has 10 grams of protein & 10 grams of omegas, so they make great fuel during any time of the day. If you’d like to try them, Manitoba Harvest is offering 15% off of a box at the checkout with the code hhbarlaunch1015 until March 31, 2016. That’s an awesome deal!

Manitoba Harvest Hemp Bars Saucony

Mmmm chocolate after running ๐Ÿ™‚

~ I haven’t even ran my first marathon yet and I signed up for my second! I couldn’t help it… the Honolulu Marathon had a fantastic registration deal going on for the month of January & I just signed up on a whim. My boyfriend convinced me to travel somewhere different for my next racecation than California, so this seemed like a great idea. I’m going to plan and save for this one & hopefully can make it work. So excited though… it looks like an amazing race!! Have you ran Honolulu or travelled there? Tips?

~ As I’ve mentioned, I’m currently going through a major transition period in my life. Some not so great things have happened to me and now I’m in a place of trying to figure out what to do next. I’m trying to make the best of what I have and where I am, but honestly, some days are better than others. I am sure there are many out there who understand and who’ve been through similar situations. I just hope that you can bear with me through it and I’m always thankful for your support. This is seriously such a great community to be around!

Ok, that’s it for my ramblings today. Maybe next time I’ll do it right and schedule it for a Thursday. ๐Ÿ™‚ Otherwise, I hope you all have a great week! Stay strong out there! โค

How’s winter run/fitness/triathlon/etc training going for you so far?

Planned your 2016 race season yet?

One thought on “Thinking Out Loud on a Monday

Leave a Reply

