Winter Running is Here

So it begins…

What, you ask?

Winter running.

That’s right, winter running has started in Calgary, Alberta and I will be honest… I’m not ready. I was debating doing another season of running outdoors because I did face some difficulties last year, but then I realized that I can’t stop now. Especially since I am considering a spring marathon as my first, well, I need to get my running butt outdoors. Even though I came to this realization, I didn’t want winter running to start so soon. But, this is Calgary and you can’t predict what mother nature will give you.

Yep, that's snow.

Yep, that’s snow.

So, this week we had snow on November 2nd… yes, you are reading that correctly – snow. And then the temperature dropped. My first “winter” run happened on November 3rd at about -5C and I was layered up. Don’t laugh, you know by now that I am a chronic over dresser. I probably didn’t need the jacket you see pictured, but what’s done is done. My worst over dressing experience definitely was Around the Bay 30K earlier this year, so I need to keep that in mind for future long runs. I don’t have all the answers for winter running, but I definitely learned some lessons last year. There will be new ones to learn as I embark on my second season of outdoor running in a different city. I’ve lived in Calgary for 5 winters previously, and I will say that they weren’t awesome. Very different from winters in Halifax and Toronto, especially the length. One year winter was from October to May! Yeah, that’s long for a girl who only really enjoys sunshine, warmth, and beaches. I really know how to pick where I live! šŸ™‚

And so it begins... brrr!

And so it begins… brrr!

I’ve been enjoying seeing pics on Twitter and Instagram of people still in enjoying fall… pretty leaves, shorts on, etc. But here it’s time for winter running and I am trying to get myself pumped! Got any tips?

See you out there! I’ll be the girl bundled up. šŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Winter Running is Here

  1. Great post! I struggle with the same challenges up in Alaska. I think our wind might be more intense and we’re heading into polar night (24-hour darkness) so I often end up running on the treadmill since it’s easier. But I have some details of my trial and error on my blog, and some links to good resources.
    Happy winter running! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

