2015 Toronto Women’s 5K Race Recap

If you follow my blog regularly you might start to notice that it takes me a long time to get my race recaps written and posted. Seriously, I envy those runners who have the energy or free time right after a race to bust out a well written recap filled with tons of awesome pictures. I’m usually so carb deprived that I can’t even string two proper sentences together! Ok, I’ll stop rambling about my blogger envy and get to the recap…

This race was held on May 24 and I signed up 2 days before on a whim. For some reason I have been planning races last minute lately and that’s not good because it gets hard on the wallet due to higher race fees as you get closer to event day. I’m not sure if I just plain forgot about this race, but a few days before I realized how close it was to where I live so I had to sign up!

The Toronto Women’s Runs are a series that are held throughout the summer and this event was the first in the series with a 5K and Half Marathon option. I wasn’t interested in running another Half only 3 weeks after the GoodLife Half, so I happily signed up for the 5K at packet pick up. This race doesn’t have an expo of any sorts, but I do like the location of packet pick up at the Rosedale Running Room because it means that I don’t have to travel too far for the kit (such as the Direct Energy Centre, ugh!). It was easy to sign up on the spot and pay cash, so on the Friday before I was ready to go.

I didn’t do a lot of planning for this race and no serious pre-race rituals, although I did feel like I needed to carb load just to be safe. πŸ˜‰ The only plan I had was to enjoy the race and the morning at the lovely Sunnybrook Park and hopefully see a friend or two while I was there.

The morning of the race I got up and had my usual smoothie breakfast and got ready. It was easy to get to Sunnybrook Park and as soon as I arrived I was able to meet up with a friend. I also saw a couple other friends before the race, which was a nice change of pace from usually being alone. We all hung out together for a little bit, but then it was time to get into our waves. Before that I quickly checked my bag (no issues there) and headed to the porta potties which was a little more of a disaster because they were all mostly out of toilet paper after the half marathoners took off (so they definitely needed someone checking those). I was able to manage and then it was time to head to the start line. There were two waves and somehow I was put in the second one. I’m not sure if this was because I signed up last minute, but I definitely was in the wrong wave, which I quickly figured out once the gun went off. I was at the front of the line and I took off like a bandit when the gun went off. I was actually so far ahead of all the others in the second wave that I thought I got lost and wasn’t on the route anymore. Catching up to people in the back of the first wave calmed my nerves and I was glad to know that I was still on the right track. (Now, I am not saying this to brag, I am mentioning it because I learned a good lesson about how it’s pretty important to be in your proper wave. I did not like the feeling of thinking I was lost while I was trying to focus on my race).

friendstorontowomensrun

For the whole race I keep a pretty good pace and felt strong. I stayed focused and ran through the water and chocolate stations – shocking, I know! I love running through Sunnbrook Park, so I quite enjoyed the course and the feeling of being away from the city. I crossed the finish line with a time of 25:57, which I am pretty damn happy about. That’s a 5K personal best for me! {3 races in May, 3 personal bests – woot woot!}

The post race mini-expo at the Toronto Women’s Runs is quite fun with a few snack options and vendors available. The post race snack bag kept me happy with chips since I am gluten intolerant and also delicious chocolate from Awake (so I don’t feel so bad for skipping the chocolate station!). After consuming food, picking up my checked bag was a breeze and then I was free to enjoy my time with friends cheering on runners who were coming in for the half.

Cute bling!

Cute bling!

Overall, I had a great morning at this race and I was glad that I signed up. I got to spend some time with friends before and after the race, which was really nice. Also, I really like the atmosphere of this race and seeing women cheer each other on to the finish line. It also helped that the course is close to my apartment. πŸ˜‰ Oh yeah, and the race photos are complimentary with registration, so that’s a nice bonus considering how expensive these pics can be from other companies.

I won’t be around for the next two races in the series, but if you’re in Toronto you should definitely give them a try. You’ll have a lot of fun and who can pass up free chocolate?! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “2015 Toronto Women’s 5K Race Recap

Leave a Reply

