Winter Running Update

Before I went away to California for the Star Wars Half Marathon, I struggled with running in the cold and snow. Every freezing day or quick snow storm had me wishing I owned a treadmill or that I hadn’t signed up for winter races at all. You see, no matter how much I bundle up, my body doesn’t like winter running. I’m slower, I feel awful, and my asthma is quickly challenged on the super chilly days. You can imagine what this does to my running confidence.

If you follow me on Instagram, you may have already seen some of my discouraged posts. The cold really kicks my butt when it comes to this running thing. Speed training doesn’t happen, long distance runs are slower, but hill work? Now that’s fine. I can actually really hammer out my hill work, as long as it’s not icy of course. In general, hill work is my favourite, so I guess it’s good that it translates the same into my winter running. Either way, I feel like my running has suffered in this cold weather. Which doesn’t help that I am actually training for races. I had begun training for the Star Wars Half basically right after my first Half Marathon in October, but it wasn’t extremely serious because I knew I would be spending more time having fun during the Disney race. But now it’s time to get serious. In just over 2 months I am running my first 30K race, which apparently has 10K of hills at the end, so I am freaking out a little bit. I quite enjoyed running the Disney run in 15C weather, but my first run back in the frozen tundra today kind of sucked. It was only around -6C, but that was enough to make me feel sluggish and caused my lungs to work extra hard. Somehow, this run felt worse than before I left for California!

I’ve said it before and I will say it again, I am a fair weather runner. Actually I don’t even mind running in the heat as much as I do in the cold. That’s probably weird, right? Here’s another “weird” thought… is it possible that our bodies are just made for certain climates? And not necessarily the one we were born/raised in? Because I am seriously starting to think that my body is meant for the California climate (sorry Canada <3). I don’t know, maybe I am just rambling here, but it’s something I am starting to seriously think about.

Anyway, that’s my winter running update. I don’t like it. Am I going to do it? Yes. I have a 30K race to run at the end of March and there is no way that I am giving up now. Will I enjoy every outdoor run on the way there? No, probably not. But, I will do my best to savour the moment while being proud of myself for getting out there and taking on this new challenge. I’m going to need some of you cheering me on along the way though, because it can get damn cold here! 🙂

{Find me on Instagram & Twitter for more frequent updates & rants about my first winter running journey}

How do you power through winter running? Or, do you just absolutely love it?

4 thoughts on “Winter Running Update

  1. You got this! Can’t wait to hear all about your 30k! It’s winter here in California now, and as much as I like running in the colder weather, I’ve found out that do prefer summer / fall mornings to run in. Winter’s a bit harsh for me (dry skin, allergies).

    • Totally understandable! It’s can be very dry here, but also cold which really affects my asthma. I know it’s all relative, but I enjoyed running in your “winter”! 😉 The trip to California made me realize how much I just prefer the milder to warmer temperatures for my outdoor running. Thanks!

  2. I dislike winter running! I did run 3.5K with some students during “Run Club” this week – but it was a run that I had to think positive thoughts for the entire run – when I run with the students in the Fall/Spring, it is great times! I do have access to a treadmill this winter, but not for super long runs (hence why I am not running ATB). This year, the snow hasn’t been too bad and the sidewalks have a reasonable stretch of bare sidewalk on them – but it is just so darn cold!

    • I hear you about having to think positive thoughts for the whole run! But, it’s starting to get difficult past the 10K mark! 🙂 I’m glad there hasn’t been too much snow, but you are right about the cold. I have certainly questioned my sanity a lot regarding ATB, but I’m in it now!

Leave a Reply

