It’s baaack…

Well, here I am again. For the second time since I started my half marathon training I am taking a short break due to an ankle injury.

I’m not sure if it was overuse or if I lost proper form during my hill training on Monday, but I have aggravated my old ankle injury and you could say that I am not too happy about it. Sure, I like running to keep myself fit and also for stress relief, but I don’t like to miss runs on my plan. I don’t like missing the training that I need so that I can do well during the half in October. But, deep down, I do know that I need the rest.

(pic credit: unknown)

(pic credit: unknown)

I actually have a 5K race on Saturday (the first in my Summer of Running), that I am mostly doing for fun and I don’t want to miss it. So, a few days rest for my ankle will be good.

I guess I am just puzzled as to how I did this again. It’s hard for me to say that it’s overuse, because I have a rest day in between all of my runs. People I know that run everyday don’t seem to end up with these injuries… so, I’m guessing I lost my form during hill training. It was my second session and was particularly vigorous, so I now know I have to watch myself. Plus, since I already injured my ankle before, I’m sure it’s more susceptible to being aggravated when I am not doing things properly.

So, for these few days during the week, I am taking it easy. Resting my ankle and doing lower impact activities, such as light weights and more yoga. I know I will feel a little bit of cabin fever, but it’s important that I take care of myself so that this doesn’t become a long-term injury (and hopefully not a constantly recurring one!). Plus, the extra yoga won’t hurt one bit! πŸ™‚

Got a nagging running injury? How do you cope?

8 thoughts on “It’s baaack…

  1. Make sure you ease into your runs with a nice warm up and light stretching. I’d also avoid strenuous hill repeats if you’re not ready to handle the work load. Good luck with training and racing! Hope you recover fast.

  2. Oh no! Sorry to hear that you’ve gotten an injury. It sucks being off track on your plan (I just got back on… I’m so sad missing all those days still!) but definitely give your ankle the rest it needs! At least you’ll get more yoga in this time, right? πŸ™‚

  3. Hey! missed reading this when you posted it but by the sounds of your tweets today and last ngiht you ankle is feeling better? Congrats on the 5K time btw ^5 …. I unfortunetly have been taking the summer off since the kids are home and I am finding it extremely difficult to find times to run with working full time and part time and speding days off doing family things. I am hoping to kick it into high gear come sept …. eek!

    • I can imagine it’s very difficult to find time for long runs when you’re that busy. Hope you can find some time when it’s back to school! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the message too, and yep my ankle is feeling a little better. A few days off was good for me.

Leave a Reply

