Sunday night… where’s your ice pack?

It’s just a regular Sunday night around the yogi household. Food prep is done, dinner is being cooked, I’m watching Supernatural, and icing my knees.

Fun times, right?

Actually, it is. Of course watching Supernatural is fun, but I’m icing my knees because I ran 9K for the first time today! My longest distance so far as I train for a 15K race in September and a Half Marathon in October. Pretty excited right now. Sure, sore knees aren’t so fun, but I know it’s because my running shoes are at the end of their life and it’s time to switch up to a new pair (which I got this weekend).

Today’s run was good, but it was also hot and humid, which I know I better get used to here in Toronto. Good thing I used the rest of my energy bits sample to get me going this morning. If you haven’t heard of them, energy bits are these little tablets made from 100% Spirulina algae. They have over 40 nutrients, the highest concentration of protein at 64%, and just 1 calorie per tab. A handful of 20-30 tabs will fill you up, meet most of your daily nutritional requirements, and give you steady supply of nourishment for that run you’re about to go on. Seriously, check out all their nutritional benefits by clicking the link here. Sure, the tabs smell a little funny, but these things are all natural and free from sugar, caffeine, preservatives, and gluten. Just the kind of stuff I like! If you’re interested, check out their site for more great info or give them a follow on Twitter – they’re fun to chat with and will answer any questions you have.

2014Energybits

Looking back on the the past 7 days, I think I had a pretty good training week. Did some speed training at the beginning, which went pretty well and also mixed up a shorter run day with a TRX/Kettlebell workout. I can’t really be sure, but I think my Onzie Spin Capri pants (below) helped me go faster… seriously, with those great colours, I was zooming! πŸ˜‰ Also worth mentioning are my Onzie Full Coverage shorts – super comfortable and great for my long run. No chafing!

2014Onzieshorts

Oh yeah, can’t forget… I signed up for my first 10K race this week!! Going to run the Toronto Women’s 10K on August 23 and I am really looking forward to it. So far I’m loving the excitement of building on my endurance, while also planning out great running events. Here’s hoping this energy lasts! I know that running can be mentally and physically challenging and I don’t look forward to those days where it will bring me down, but when I’m feeling good, I am going to enjoy it. It’s good to know that there a great running community out there to help when I need (thank you #Runchat & #SweatPink!!).

Have a great week everyone and happy running!

ps. Don’t forget your yoga. Great balance with running… but, you know that. πŸ™‚

2014MeOnziePants

2 thoughts on “Sunday night… where’s your ice pack?

Leave a Reply

