June transformation

methumbsup.jpgOh June, you have been an interesting month. Plenty of change, challenges, and surprises.

Sometimes I feel like June is one of those months of transformation. It’s in the middle of the year and it’s the kind of month that can go either way. Good things may happen, or maybe some bad things. But, there’s always some kind of change.

For me, this might be influenced by the fact that my birthday is in June… and that always gives me the opportunity to be reflective (and anxious). Honestly, aging freaks me out a little bit. When I tell people this, they tell me that I am strange. I know, I know. But, ever since I left my 20s, I haven’t been too happy to see those passing birthdays. Part of me doesn’t know why I get so freaked out, the other part knows it’s because I am not where I want to be in life. Or where I expected to be. Oh yes, I know I have a bad case of the “shoulds”. I should own a condo. I should have a high profile job. I should have gone on many vacations already… etc. etc. Something about my birthday and new years eve that brings up all this baggage. Of course, I do my best to let it go and these thoughts usually do pass, but the days around my birthday can be overwhelming.

This year to take my mind off of this silliness, we celebrated my birthday by going to the Lindsey Stirling concert. If you haven’t heard of her, you should really check her out. She calls herself a “hip-hop violinist” and her music is so much fun! She’s very talented and a bit quirky – definitely check out this Game of Thrones based video or my favourite (of course), Star Wars! We had so much fun, it was truly a great night out on the town in Toronto, which we don’t do very often.

Seriously, I can’t believing we are nearing the end of June already. The year has certainly flown by for me, with all of its ups and downs. This month has probably seen the most change – hey, I even surprised myself by registering for the runDisney Star Wars Half Marathon. I’ve really taken on this month to go out of my comfort zone to see what can happen. Maybe that’s what hitting the mid-30s does to a gal… what do you think? 😉

Is there a time of the year that you find particularly transformative? 

 

4 thoughts on “June transformation

  1. I get contemplative around my birthday each year as well. I agree that aging is a strange sensation and I spend quite a bit of time ruminating on it with each birthday celebration.

    I love Lindsey Stirling! I run to her music quite a bit and am excited for you that you got to see her in concert!

  2. I love June. It’s the perfect time to look back on your New Year’s resolutions, and a great time to improve for the rest of the year. And It’s also that much closer to christmas…:D

Leave a Reply

