Goodbye comfort zone, hello Star Wars Half!

I’m going to start this post off by telling you something honest. Here it is… I don’t normally step outside of my comfort zone. I’m an extremely cautious over-thinker. I don’t do many things spontaneously. Also, I deliberate for hours days until whatever I was considering has passed and then I usually feel upset or disappointed about it.

Trips? Courses? Concerts? Networking events? I’ve somehow talked myself out of attending them all.

Of course, I’ve gone to a few events along the way, but I have probably talked myself out of more than I can count. There are times when my reasoning comes from being an introvert, but there have also be financial considerations to hold me back along the way. Seriously, I had a goal to see either San Francisco or Seattle in 2012 and I managed to convince myself that it just wasn’t possible and here I am still hoping to go someday. I won’t even mention how much I’d like to go to Italy!

Well, I found myself in a similar dilemma earlier this week. About two weeks ago I had learned that runDisney released the details for a Star Wars Half Marathon weekend in Disneyland. I can tell you that I freaked out. My nerdiness ran clear as I told everyone about it and that I just couldn’t imagine missing it. I have loved Star Wars my whole life and watched the movies too many times to count. I just had to go.

But then the fear crept up on me. I can’t afford to go… I can’t go with all my friends… I haven’t run a half marathon yet… Well, you get the picture. I basically started to talk myself out of it. I actually tired myself out thinking about all the “reasons” I couldn’t go. But, I also got myself to the point that I would be fine not going and “oh well maybe next year”. Until the morning that registration opened. I really tried to put it out of my mind, but my boyfriend was actually the one to remind me to register. I won’t lie, he basically called me a chicken and said to stop making excuses. He’s seen me talk myself out of a lot of things, but he knew I’d regret this. That’s when I decided… screw it, I’m going to sign up! I’m going to register for this half marathon and I’m finally going to see California. Yeah!

I was a little anxious as I waited for the registration to open… still had those negative thoughts in my head. But, I tried my hardest not to listen. Told myself that I won’t get anywhere or have any awesome experiences if I don’t step out of my comfort zone. But then I almost had another opportunity to back out – I wasn’t fast enough to register for the Rebel Challenge (run a 10K and a half marathon and get 3 amazing medals)(Yes, I know I’m crazy but I’m not the only one!). When I didn’t make it for the Challenge I actually sat staring at my computer trying to tell myself that it wouldn’t be worth it to go for the half marathon only. I know, what was I thinking?! The fear can get loud sometimes. But then I just said screw it and I registered for the half. Boom. Holy crap what have I done? Cue the anxiety. But also the excitement. Wow, I just did something I never would normally do. This is real now and this is good!

It’s now a couple days later and I am happy that I registered for the race. Sure, I’ll have to make some sacrifices and budget a bit more, but I’m finally going to get to see California (and palm trees!). And, I’m going to a pretty awesome event while I am at it. So, I couldn’t be more pleased with myself. Getting out of my comfort zone one small (or maybe this is kind of big) step at a time. It’s time to stop wishing and start doing! Who’s with me? πŸ™‚

When was the last time you stepped out of your comfort zone? What did you do?

Credit: runDisney.com (click photo for link)

Credit: runDisney.com (click photo for link)

9 thoughts on “Goodbye comfort zone, hello Star Wars Half!

  1. This is awesome – good for you! I was kind of talked into my first (and only thus far, but that will change) half marathon by some co-workers. Honestly, it was the best thing that could have happened and I would have likely not risen to that challenge for years to come but for a little peer pressure! This looks like a really neat race and since you’re a fan it’s sure to be a memorable event! As a fellow introvert, I talk myself out of things all the time, even when I know the end result will be awesome. Way to push yourself!

  2. I used to be the same way my fellow introverts. But I recently attended a class on achieving goals in life and they used the metaphor of walking. It’s easy to stand completely straight forever but for us to begin walking we must lean forward, out of our comfort zone, and voila! In other words, you have to push out of your comfort zone, take risks, have faith, and then who knows – maybe you’ll find a miracle at the other end.

Leave a Reply

