RBC Run for the Kids Ambassador

For those of you who haven’t already heard, I am happy to announce that I was chosen to be an Ambassador for the 2014 RBC Run for the Kids here in Toronto!

I’m very excited to take part and promote this event because I feel that the cause is very important. We are all aware of the stigma that surrounds mental health issues, so I believe events like this help to break down the barriers little by little.ย The RBC Run for the Kids supports the Family Navigation Project at Sunnybrook, which helps families in crisis navigate the complex mental-health care system, so that the youth can get the help that they need.

Last year the event hadย 4,500 participants who did their part to raise an amazing 1.2 million for youth mental health. How great is that?! So this year, we are looking to make an even bigger impact for this great cause! That’s why I am raising funds and running 15K (my first!), while being an Ambassador spreading the word both online and offline.

The RBC Run for the Kids has 3 distances to suit your running/walking goals – 5K, 15K and 25K. It’s also a family friendly event, so get the gang together and form a team! For more information on the distances, you can click here.

We’d love your support, so if you’re in Toronto you can sign up here or if you’d like to donate to my fundraising page you can contact me for more information directly. Every little bit helps! You can also follow along my journey on Twitter and Instagram as I train for this run (and then my eventual half marathon – fun right?!).

Thanks for your support and I hope to see you out there on September 20, 2014! ๐Ÿ˜€

RBCRun4theKidslogo

Leave a Reply

