Chasing 21K

Well, 21.1K to be exact. Or 13.1 miles for my American readers. Either way, who’s really counting that .1 anyway?

I say that now, until I actually do the race. Then I am betting I will be praying for that .1 to be done with!

That’s right friends, I am planning on running a Half Marathon. Why you ask? I’m not really sure. Crazy? Maybe. But, I do know that I want to ramp up my running game and I want to achieve something. Plus, I want a pretty, big medal. Is that so bad?

I’ve completed four 5K races and I just feel like it’s time. Sure, I will probably do a 10/15K race during my training, but the aim right now is that elusive 21K. Which is all pretty funny, considering that about three years ago I hated running. I can’t recall everything that was going in my life at the time, but I was training for a race in the spring – didn’t do so well – and then I declared that I hated everything about running. Makes me laugh now because I love getting out there and I definitely love the atmosphere at the races. But hey, the longest distance I’ve ran up to this point is 7K… so we’ll see what I am saying at distances past 10K. There better be that runners high that everyone keeps talking about!

So, over the next few weeks I will be running longer distances (just did my first 7K on the weekend!) and then I will be following a training program in hopes of running the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon Half. It’s in October, so I believe I have lots of time to get prepared and I’m not expecting it to be incredibly speedy. I’m going to take the training nice and easily and see what I can learn about myself along the way. Which I believe will benefit me when I aim to run more half marathons and maybe, just maybe, a full. But, I’m not going to get ahead of myself here!

I’ll be sharing my ups and downs and thoughts on the blog, as well as Twitter and Instagram, which you can follow along if you like. I love the online community when it comes to runners, such a supportive and motivational bunch. I highly recommend it if you’re a runner, a little extra help is never a bad thing. Happy running and see you out there!

Any tips for a first time half marathoner? Where was your first race?

first-7K-run.jpg

5 thoughts on “Chasing 21K

  1. I ran my first half marathon just two months ago, so I’m not an expert. All I can say (well, okay, not ALL, ha ha) is that it’s a journey, and the mental part is/will be just as tough if not harder than the physical part. That being said, I place the day of my first half marathon in the top 5 moments of my life. That feeling is indescribable – literally no words. Happy running!

    • Awesome, I’m glad to hear that! I imagine I will be happy after the race, it’s that build up and the journey of training to get there. I’m excited and nervous for my fears to come up in my mind. Lots to work on I am sure! 🙂

  2. […] Well, it’s more like the summer-and-fall of running, but you get the idea. Yep, this year I am participating in more races than I have in total since I started running in 2009. Why? I’m not so sure, but I think I’ve got the running bug. Plus, I believe it’s all preparation for my big, crazy goal – my first Half Marathon! […]

Leave a Reply

