Summer project, exciting venture…

Hard at work!

Hard at work!

Readers, have you ever tried to develop a website? Those of you who have, probably know just how “fun” this can be, especially when you know nothing about coding. My skills are limited to basic html and how to update my WordPress blog, that’s it. So, as soon I started to embark on this endeavour, I knew I was challenged right away.

Hosting… themes… plugins… codes… html… and don’t forget picking the domain name! I thought I was doing myself a favour by installing WordPress and using one of their themes since I’ve been blogging on this platform for almost 3 years, but nope. Many surprises and parts of the project to figure out on my own. And here I thought writing the content would be the difficult part!

Why am I doing this, you ask?

Well, I’m slowly developing the website for my new small business venture. Don’t get my rant wrong, I’m very excited and, in between the frustrations of trying to figure out image sizes, ready to take on this challenge. Gives me something new to learn and all I can say is thank goodness for Google and those who share their knowledge! It’s actually interesting to see how much work goes into developing a site, and I know there’s so much more involved for those that don’t use pre-made themes.

The site is coming together, but will certainly take more time for me to get it fully set up… as long as I don’t edit it 1000 times in an effort to make it perfect! This is where yoga comes in handy – starting to over obsess about something or can’t figure out the right text to write? Time for some sun salutations to free the mind. Even better if done in the sunshine. Free the mind for fresh ideas and a new perspective when returning to the work. Heck, I have to do that with these blog posts sometimes. A clear, yoga’d mind helps me to let some things go in the writing and actually just publish the post.

Well, I better get back to working on the site. If you’re curious to check out what I’m up to, the Facebook and Twitter pages are live.

Let me know what you’ve been up to this summer, lots of vacation time or working on projects like me? Whatever you’re up to, enjoy the rest of the season, don’t let those summer moments fly by. Take those (yoga) breaks and plenty of them! ย เฅ

2 thoughts on “Summer project, exciting venture…

  1. My understanding is it is daunting. I haven’t tried yet, although I plan to soon! Good luck with it! Look forward to seeing your “finished” product. “finished” as I assume it will evolve even once you have it up and running! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

