Run Yogi Run…

Before the race shenanigans

Before the race shenanigans

So that’s what I did.

At a very early time in the morning.

Ok, it wasn’t that early, but it was definitely my earliest run of the season and just so happened to be my first 5K race of the year as well.

I’d been looking forward to this race for quite some time, so when I woke up at 5:30 a.m. yesterday I was both tired and excited. I normally only wake that early for flights, never anything active and/or outdoors on a chilly day. Nonetheless, I got up, threw my gear together, made a delicious smoothie, and ran out the door with my boyfriend and roommate for the Oakville Mercedes 10K race, which was a 45 minute drive away.

Could I have done a race a little closer to home? You bet ya! But, do I seem like the type to do things the easy way?!

I’ll be honest here… the original motivation for this race had something to do with the shiny medal that finishers get (see pic below). But as time got closer to the race, it became about more than that. It became about how I haven’t done a race in 2 years, and how I’ve really grown to like running lately, and about challenging myself in a fun and supportive community.

When we arrived at the race grounds, I grew more excited as I was surrounded by all types of runners – the novice, the casual, the experienced, and the ones wearing Boston Marathon jackets – every level you can imagine was there. It was incredibly inspiring to see so many people up bright and early in their spandex ready to run their hearts out for whatever reason. I felt the energy and took it into my run and I hope I spread some of my good vibes around as well. I even started mumbling some words about how I could run a marathon someday… uh oh, I’ve really got the sickness now.

During the run I made sure to say good morning or thank you to all the spectators, volunteers, and police along the route. Recent events really make you realize how important these individuals are and I did my best to thank as many as I could. My boyfriend was an amazing spectator and I am grateful to him for getting up before dawn on his day off to see me race.

Overall the whole morning was great and I left the event with a huge smile on my face. I achieved a personal best of 30:56, previous time being 32 minutes for a 5K. Needless to say, I was pretty pumped! Especially since I was aiming for 34 minutes (taking into consideration that I don’t run in the morning and how chilly it was). Looks like I need to give myself more credit!

And yes, I got my shiny medal.  ॐ

So pretty ; )

So pretty ; )

3 thoughts on “Run Yogi Run…

  1. Congratulations!! I have been thinking about starting some running now that the weather here in Ontario is a bit more friendly. My problem is that I have somehow gotten it in my head that “you have to run early in the morning” and that just doesn’t work for me.
    What time of day do you run? Do you run by yourself? Did you run during the winter? If not, how did you train to run the 5K?
    Lots of questions …. sorry.

Leave a Reply

