Comforting Thai Chicken Soup…

A couple weeks ago I had a crazy craving for some type of Thai chicken soup, but I also wanted to use up items I had in my fridge. So, I googled a bunch of different Thai chicken soup recipes to see what kinds of ingredients are usually included, double checked what I had, and then put together my improvised version.

Ingredients

4 chicken breasts (diced into smaller cubes)

2 cups low sodium, organic chicken broth (or make your own)

1-2 bunches bok choy (chopped)

1-2 handfuls snap peas

2 tsp ginger

2 cloves garlic

2+ tbsp red curry paste

1/2 to a full can lite coconut milk (to taste, I used a 1/2 can)

1 tbsp extra virgin coconut oil

2 tbsps worcestershire sauce (this is what I had on hand!)

1/2 lime

1/2 cup fresh cilantro (to taste)

Sea salt and pepper to taste

vermicelli rice noodles (optional)

Instructions

In a frying pan add 1 tbsp of coconut oil and once melted add in the chopped up chicken. Cook until no longer pink in the middle.

Meanwhile, in a large soup pot add 2 cups chicken broth with the cloves of garlic, ginger, salt and pepper, bring to a simmer. Add red curry paste (2 tbsp or more to taste) and mix well.

Add bok choy, snap peas, and half cilantro to broth. Add in 1/2 to full can of coconut milk and worcestershire sauce and stir well. Add cooked chicken and let simmer for 20-30 minutes. Spritz in soup a half of a lime and stir.

Before serving, prepare vermicelli rice noodles if you would like to add them to the soup. If not, this soup is also great without them.

Add desired amount of noodles to bowl, then soup mixture, and top with remaining fresh cilantro on top.

(Note – you can make this spicier with Thai chilis if that’s your thing or use fish sauce instead of the worcestershire)

I absolutely love this soup and had fun throwing it together with random items I had in my fridge. Of course, I was even happier when it turned out well. Enjoy! : )  ॐ

Doesn't that look good?

Doesn’t that look good?

Leave a Reply

