A new love for smoothies…

I’ve never been much of a smoothie person.  I used to buy the occasional drink at a smoothie stand, but those were usually laced with so much sugar that I never really felt well after drinking them.  I just couldn’t get into making smoothies, even though most of the people I knew were making them.  Well, I recently had to change my breakfast routine because a daily smoothie was part of the detox I was following by the Hormone Diet.  This program calls for a morning smoothie everyday with whey protein isolate as Dr. Turner states that it is the most bio-available source of protein.  Of course, you can use whichever type that suits your needs and preferences.

My smoothies aren’t the most complex, but they taste delicious and satisfy my hunger in the morning.  So, I wanted to share two of my faves with you. I use a Magic Bullet to blend my smoothies, so the measurements I use in the recipes are for blender cups that come with this appliance.  If you are using a big blender, the measurements can most likely be similar for one drink but you can increase the amounts for more than one smoothie.

Delicious Berry Goodness Smoothie

Ingredients

1/2 cup Blueberries, 1/2 cup strawberries, 1/2 banana (more if you’re using something bigger than a Magic Bullet)

1 tbsp ground flax seeds

1 tsp cinnamon (or more to taste)

1 tsp real cocoa

1 cup almond milk (or milk of your choice)

1 1/2 scoop (or 2 scoops for the guys) whey protein isolate (or a protein powder of your choice/for your needs)

*optional 2 tbsp goat yogurt or Greek yogurt

Instructions –  Add the banana, blueberries, strawberries to Magic Bullet cup or blender.  Then add flax seeds, cinnamon, cocoa, almond milk and yogurt.  Blend until well mixed.  Add protein and blend for 20 – 30 more seconds and pour into your favourite morning glass.  It’s almost too easy!  I also like having some almonds with my morning smoothie, I find they go well together.

This next smoothie has been modified from a lovely Lululemon blog recipe – their’s sounds really good, but I changed up a few things for my tastes and needs.  I love love love pumpkin pie, so making this into a smoothie has been my absolute favourite.  Now I don’t have to wait for pie to enjoy the great taste of pumpkin!  Give this one a try, I bet you’ll love it too. A great colder season smoothie!

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

Ingredients

1/2 banana

1/2 cup to a cup of pure pumpkin puree

1 cup almond milk (or a milk of your choice)

1 tbsp ground flax seeds

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Pumpkin Spice, Cinnamon – 1 tsp each, or more to your taste

1 1/2 scoop (or 2 scoops for the guys) of whey protein isolate (or a protein powder of your choice/for your needs)

*optional – 2 tbsp goat yogurt or Greek yogurt

Pumpkin smoothie goodness!

Instructions – Add the banana, pumpkin puree, flax, spices, vanilla extract, and almond milk to the Magic Bullet cup (or blender).  Blend for up to a minute to really mix the ingredients.  Then add your protein and blend for another 20-30 seconds and voila!  Pumpkin pie smoothie deliciousness.  Mmmm….

I’ve been having fun creating new smoothies with different fruit combinations for the past month.  It’s actually really nice to get up and prepare a delicious, healthy drink to enjoy for breakfast.  The next step I have to take is into green smoothie making.  People seem to love those and the health benefits are endless.  I’m just going to need some help there… so used to eating my veggies raw/cooked, not blended.  Should be fun!  ॐ

What’s your favourite smoothie combination?  Any tips for my recipes?

Leave a Reply

