Turkey Zucchini Lasagna

Before I started a two week detox earlier this month, I knew I was going to have to come up with new meal ideas that would be interesting and fun to keep me from giving up.  I love food and it is usually a big part of my day, so boring/plain meals just don’t cut it.

I found this recipe through the Institute for Integrative Nutrition and thought it sounded delicious, but wanted to make my own modifications to it.  Their recipe is vegetarian – I added ground turkey to mine and made some minor adjustments to work with what I had in my fridge.  Let me tell you, this meal was delicious!  It’s not too much work and really quite enjoyable, try it out for yourself!

Ingredients

1 lb ground chicken or turkey

4 -5 zucchini

1/2 red onion, 4 celery stalks, mushrooms

tomato sauce (organic – I know I should make my own, but I was short on time!)

extra virgin olive oil, fresh garlic and basil, sea salt and pepper to taste

goat’s feta

Instructions

Start by slicing zucchini length-wise into lasagna noodle like strips and set aside.

In a pan, brown ground turkey/chicken that has been seasoned with sea salt and pepper.  Once browned, add chopped celery, onion, and mushrooms.  Cook until veggies are tender and then add organic tomato/pasta sauce and simmer.

Lightly oil the bottom of a glass baking dish with the olive oil then add a little bit of the sauce to the bottom of the pan. Add a layer of zucchini and then more sauce.  On top of the sauce, add crumbled goat’s feta then place another layer of zucchini.  Continue this until you are out of sauce and have a layer of zucchini on the top.  Lightly brush a little olive oil on the zucchini, add some more basil on top if desired.

Bake for 20-25 mins at 375 fahrenheit (depending on your oven), then broil for 5 mins.  Remove from oven, cool for a few minutes and then cut into squares to serve.  Enjoy with a light salad if desired.   This is so good, I can’t wait to make it again.  I love lasagna (gluten free), but this is a nice light alternative if you are trying to cut out starches.  ॐ

Leave a Reply

