Letting go of the stuff…

Stuff.

Why do we have so much stuff?
And why do we only realize how much stuff we have when we are moving?

Does this stuff make us feel whole? Does it fill a void? I know that about 10 – 15 years ago I collected so much stuff because I grew up with very little. Not constructive then, but I certainly have no excuse now.

I even tried to tell myself that I don’t really own that many things, but I was kidding myself. Now that I am packing up my bachelor apartment, I see that, again, I have too much stuff.

What kind of stuff you ask?

Books. So many books. I’d like to think I will read them again.

Dishes. How did I end up with so many “favourite” mugs or wine glasses?

Clothes. Yep, way too many. Even after taking 3 huge bags to goodwill.

It’s amazing how much of this stuff we hold on to and carry around with us.
Why can’t we let it go? Why the attachment?

In yoga they teach non-attachment, which of course is easier said than done for most of us. And this applies to more than just stuff… But, right now that’s the one I’m trying to work on.  I’m attempting to move across the country for 10 months with 2 suitcases.  Yep, 2 suitcases.  So far, this has been extremely difficult and overwhelming.  Do we obtain stuff so that we can be overwhelmed by it?  I didn’t think so.

So, as I go through and analyze every single piece of stuff in my apartment, I try to ask myself if I will use/wear/read it again.  Can I let this item go?  And usually, the answer is yes.  There is lots going to goodwill here, and that’s a good thing.  I’m supposed to love and feel grateful for the things I own, and I do, and it certainly isn’t supposed to overwhelm me.  I’ll tell you, moving is sort of like a cleanse for the space outside of you.  It really makes you think about what you need and when you let go of things that no longer serve you, you feel lighter.  But, I have realized that I need to learn and grow from this experience… I need to buy and become attached to less.  In the end it’s just stuff, and what I really want is more experiences than things.  I really am going to work on this… but I’m still not giving up my “favourite” mugs. ; ) ॐ

Have you ever experienced feelings like this when moving?  How did you deal with these feelings?

This pretty much sums it up!

One thought on “Letting go of the stuff…

Leave a Reply

