In awe of The Wall…

Show started like this!

It’s been a week since I attended the most amazing concert of my life and I’m still reeling from the intensity and awesomeness of the production.

Last Saturday, I was privileged to witness Roger Waters perform The Wall in its entirety  in Toronto.  I will say that this was probably the most amazing birthday present I have ever received.  Most anticipated as well, because I had to wait 7 months for it!

I’m not even sure if I can put the show into proper words, but I can tell you that I was almost brought to tears as my teenage self was basking in the glory of a show I thought I would never see live.  The theatrics, the characters and props, the visuals – ALL AMAZING.  The band, the extras, the Roger Waters – PHENOMENAL.

If you’re not familiar with Pink Floyd or The Wall, that is ok.  Just know that this album and this band have been my most cherished since as long as I can remember.  I’ve listened to this album more times than I can count on vinyl, cassette, CD, and Mp3… it’s been with me in some format for at least 25 years.  Yep, it’s that powerful to me.  I’m not even sure how I managed to hold back the tears during my all time favourite song, Comfortably Numb, but it might have been the awe overwhelming me (or my incredible need to sing along).

A week later and I am still blown away and feeling very fortunate to have been able to see the show live.  I know it’s early, but I think it may be the greatest show I’ll ever see – if only for the history and impact it’s had on me.  Great show, with the best company… what more could a gal ask for around her birthday?

You may be wondering what this has to do with yoga… well, I am not sure, but this definitely has to do with life.  At a time when I’m facing some personal challenges, this concert helped me feel alive and excited.  I felt uplifted and ready to keep pushing on, this is no time to give up – there are great things out there in the world that need to experienced!  This may seem like a strange reaction to a concert, I can’t explain it… but, I am happy to accept it.  One of the most powerful images shown on The Wall that night was “Fear builds Walls”– this can apply to so many things in life, but personally, don’t let that fear build up inside of you and don’t block out the world even when times are tough.  Get out there and accept the love coming to you, it’s what most of us need right here and right now.  Sounds like a powerful show, right?  Well, it certainly was for me.  ॐ

Great show!

3 thoughts on “In awe of The Wall…

    • Wow Tiffany, thank you very much. I really appreciate the compliment, you have made me smile! 🙂 ❤
      The concert was definitely amazing, something I will always remember.

Leave a Reply

