Healthy changes update…

The Dalai Lama was asked what surprised him most.
He said: “Man.  Because he sacrifices his health in order to make money.
Then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health.

(From Your Life Your Way‘s awesome Tuesday inspirations)

Here we are… over a month later and I have not provided an update on my Healthy Changes post!  I know you are sitting on the edge of your seat readers! ; )

Over the past 2 months I have been seeing a Naturopathic Doctor and getting some tests done, so that I can figure out what’s going on and get myself back to optimal performance.  So far, things are going well but as you also know, these things take time.  I am trying to be patient here, I really am… but, there are some days…

Anyway, most people around me were wondering how the reduction in caffeine and the 3 weeks without any alcohol went.  Well, not as great as I had hoped, but I’m also trying not to beat myself up about it.  I did cheat one day with wine, but I added an extra day on to the end of the three weeks so I would say that was pretty successful.  I won’t lie, there were days I was tempted by a delicious glass of wine, but I stuck to my guns… except for that one day (it was a friend’s going away party, what was I supposed to do?!).  In regards to the caffeine, I have only been able to get myself down to half-caffeinated coffees.  So far, it seems that full decaf on weekdays is not as easy, but on the weekends it’s no problem.  This is interesting to me, but I guess my body likes the little boost in the morning on Monday – Friday to get me moving and answering those emails.  I’m trying not to be upset about it, so I am drinking half-caf coffees during the week.  I just really like that warm, delicious beverage in the morning… it’s like a ritual and personally, I don’t think one cup of half-caf a day is all that bad (for me anyway).

In the end, it’s all about balance and taking care of yourself.  Have things in moderation and always ask questions if you are unsure about something.  Seek the help of a doctor or natural practitioner, so that you can learn more about your body and how to keep it functioning optimally.  When I first read the quote above a few years ago, it really hit home.  Most likely, we all have someone in our lives that comes to mind when reading that quote.  We really need to take care of ourselves as best we can all the time, so as not to find ourselves in the predicament mentioned above.  Love yourself, take care of yourself, and be well.  ॐ

Leave a Reply

