Healthy changes…

At Lake Minniwanka (courtesy of Roger M.)

Continuing with my steps of getting back to the basics and feeling like myself again, I went to see a Naturopathic Doctor this past Friday. I used to see one back in 2009-2010, but haven’t been back since for a couple different reasons. I found the previous help that I received, and all that I learned about myself, was very helpful so I knew I wanted to give this type of therapy another try.

I won’t lie, even though I have been before, I was a little nervous before my appointment. I’m quite set in my ways, so when the practitioner suggests major diet/health changes I get a little edgy – who doesn’t? This time around though, the visit was different than before. It turns out that I have kept a lot of the behaviours I learned before and am doing quite well in the nutrition and exercise department. She even mentioned that I seemed very conscious about my diet when she read my food diary – score one for Crystal! There is a dark side though… I must reduce my coffee to decaf over the next week or two while we are working on treatment. Egad, what do you mean? I eat healthy and pretty clean, I keep active, and you say I have to reduce my one daily treat?! Oh boy, here we go. Now, I only drink one coffee a day (about a tall to grande size), but apparently while we’re doing testing and meeting, I need to switch to decaf as a compromise. Ok, ok… I can do this. Right?

You may not think this is a big deal… You may be thinking “yogis shouldn’t drink coffee anyway” and I hear you. But I really don’t have any vices, so I drink my one coffee a day. The other side of this is that I recently chose on my own a week ago to not have any alcohol for the last three weeks in April. Also not a big deal to most people, and I don’t exactly consume that much, but it is known that I do like to enjoy a nice glass of wine or two on the weekend. It’s no secret that I love wine and trying new wines, etc. so not having a nice delicious sip for three weeks is both daunting and rewarding. My body needs a little cleanse and this is a good time to do it, so why not?

I’m both excited and nervous about this new adventure with a Naturopath. So far, I need to do some more tests before anything is decided about new supplements or major diet changes. Due to my diet being pretty clean, I am curious as to what is going on in my body and how I can get back to optimal performance. I’ve already learned that I am both lactose and gluten intolerant, so I do my best to keep those to an absolute minimum but have the occasional treat (hello poutine!). I did find out that my vitamin D is extremely low, which makes since when I have talked about Seasonal Affective Disorder before. Increasing the vitamin D drops right now, because spring is pretty far off where I live. I need some sun, but this will have to do. I’m hoping it helps as I really do notice when my S.A.D. kicks in to full gear.

None of this till May.. Awww.

So you get to watch me readers, over the next few weeks, reduce my caffeine to decaf coffee and no alcohol until May 1, while increasing my vitamin D in an attempt to get the levels back to normal. This may not seem like much, but it’s a start and I know it’s necessary for the testing and help that I’m going to get with this Naturopath. The Naturopath didn’t even tell me that I had to give up my glasses of wine, so it’s an added bonus. At least that’s what I think. 😉  ॐ

Have you ever seen a Naturopath? Did you feel you got the help that you needed?

11 thoughts on “Healthy changes…

  1. that is too bad. I was able to give up coffee and tea for about 8 months, but then took a new job with a lot of reading, and I got pulled back in, haha.

Leave a Reply

