Chicken, kale, gluten free pasta dish…

Have you ever tried a new food and loved it so much that you want to throw it into everything you cook?  This is me right now with kale.  Yes, I said it. Kale. (It was hard for me to believe too!)

I finally picked up this green leafy goodness a couple of weeks ago and I have been throwing it into every stir fry or pasta that I make.  It actually tastes great and the benefits of this veggie are awesome!  It is said that kale is very vitamin rich; high in vitamins A, K, and C while also having cholesterol lowering and cancer fighting properties.  This great article shows a vitamin breakdown and speaks to some of the research being done on this ‘superfood’.

So, since I am now in love with this great veggie, I wanted to share with your my favourite recent recipe that I have been whipping up a lot lately.  I hope you give it a try and enjoy it just as much – here we go!

Chicken, kale, gluten free pasta dish

Ingredients

Boneless, skinless chicken breast(s)

Gluten free pasta (I have used fettucini or rotini style by Rizopia lately)

Kale, zuchinni, asparagus, red onion, tomato

Extra virgin olive oil, basil, garlic, pepper, lemon

Instructions

Add a dash of olive oil to a frying pan and toss in cubed chicken and cook till no longer pink inside, or slightly browned on the outside.  In a separate pan, add a small amount of olive oil and toss in chopped zucchini, red onion, asparagus, and season with desired amount of garlic and cook for approximately 5-10 minutes.  Wash kale leaves, chop into bite size portions, and then toss into the veggie pan mixture – cook for up to 5 more minutes and toss in chopped tomatoes at the end to warm them up (but not too long so they don’t get mushy).

At the same time in a different pot, cook gluten free pasta of your choice to cooking instructions for your desired amount of servings.  If you are not required to be gluten free, try using a whole wheat pasta of your choice for this recipe.

Once all is cooked, grab a mixing bowl and add the cooked chicken, pasta, and veggies and then a half to a full teaspoon of olive oil, pepper and basil to taste, and squeeze the juice from half a lemon on top.  Toss to mix in the flavours well.  Serve and enjoy!  ॐ

(You can also choose to omit the chicken to make it veggie only or make the pasta as a side-dish to fish or another meat of choice.  I’m eating this recipe meat-free as a left over for lunch right now as I write this post, yum!)

Yummy greeny goodness!

One thought on “Chicken, kale, gluten free pasta dish…

Leave a comment