Must get back on track…

Last week a friend of mine shared this picture on her Facebook wall and it caught my eye right away.   Actually, with that title, how can it not get your attention?  Anyway, it struck me as an odd and sad story, but of course I was also skeptical about it’s validity.  But then I thought, whether it’s real or not, this would be a sad sad story and I instantly thought to myself “I don’t want this to be me”.  Now, some may want to argue that the article isn’t real and I did a brief look over the internet about it, but that’s not what this post is about.  The actual thoughts that come to mind even more are related to how awful it would be to know someone or be that someone in this article.  Strangely enough, I mentioned this article to my co-workers on the same day and one of them right away said that she knew a guy that this happened to.  Back in the day, she knew an accountant who had passed away at his desk and no one noticed for two days.  Two damn days.  So, even if the article isn’t real, her story is and I felt sorry for this old acquaintance of hers.

Right away, seeing and hearing stories like this might make you assess your life and what you’re doing with it.  Am I happy with the work I do?  Do I work too much over-time?  Am I getting enough time to spend with friends and family?  So, many questions came to mind almost instantly.  And let’s just say that the general consensus is no… no I am not spending enough time doing what I actually love.  This article has been like a slap in the face and as I look around I realize I am spending less and less time doing what I love and I am not exactly sure why.  Of course, work is work and we have to do it to pay the bills, but is there opportunity to make that work more enjoyable?  Do we actually need to put in lots of over-time?  How can we figure out what we really want to do for a career and how can we get there? Tons of questions to think about, I know.  But, it has to be done.  I’ve lost track of who I am where I want to be, so it’s time to get back to these basic questions and focus on some real goals.  This post where I wrote my answers to the 11 questions we should be asking ourselves is a great place to start.  The answers are real and may even lead me back on track.  I know that I need it… do you?

I know I haven’t been posting very much lately readers.  This is part of what I am talking about.  Working too much, losing focus of where I want to be, and spending time on things that aren’t my passion – that’s where I’ve been.  And, I need to come back.  This yogi needs to come back here… back to the writing… and most certainly back to the yoga that I love.  This girl always carries a journal, got a new mediation book, and the sun is starting to shine again – yep, it’s time to get back to basics and figure out what drives me again.  I’m realizing it has to be done, it is necessary – I want to live life to the fullest and not be a sad story in an article wondering what life could have been.  Let’s do this!  ॐ

It might be that spring is in the air, but are you having similar thoughts as these? Why or why not?

3 thoughts on “Must get back on track…

Leave a Reply

