6 years…

It’s been six years.

Six years since you decided to go out drinking and driving.  Which makes it six years since we met in a manner that was unpleasant and life-changing.

We don’t know each other, but I hated you for many years.  I still hold a small amount of anger towards you, which I am reminded of when my pain ‘flares up‘ more than usual.  I know I shouldn’t hate and I am aware that it is a strong word, but your actions that day completely changed my path – only now am I starting to see the positives from it.

Trust me when I say I am glad to be here.  We were lucky, they all said.  But, my life forever changed that day and I continue to deal with chronic pain, constantly working on my healing – both mind and body.

I don’t care where you are right now or what you are doing.  But, I certainly hope you aren’t still drinking and driving and hurting anyone else.

It’s been six years and this is the first time I haven’t cried or yelled on this day.  My anger towards the situation has lessoned and part of me feels like I am finally moving on – slowly, but it’s happening.  I’m a work in progress.

Six crazy, life-changing, transformational years.  Let’s hope by this time next year I’ll be more focused on the silly heart day than on the anniversary that need not be remembered in such a negative way.  ॐ

So glad to have found yoga as part of this journey. What helps you deal with mind or body pain?

5 thoughts on “6 years…

Leave a Reply

