Not giving up…

A great place to dream

Dreams… we all have them, right?  I’d certainly like to think so.

The real question here is, do we all reach them?  Does everyone get to achieve at least one of their dreams in their lifetime?  I really hope they do, I hope they get that and more.

I ask you these questions readers, because this week I had a brief moment when I thought that maybe, just maybe, my dreams weren’t for me and that I will never get to achieve them.  I realize now that this is absurd, but you understand how it feels when you are in the moment.  Something hits you and your brain just runs with it, even when you don’t want to have negative thoughts – that’s what happened to me this week.  It all started when I missed out on an opportunity to be part of something fun and that I really care about.  And, it’s not the first time this happened.  I was naturally upset about the situation and definitely not happy that this is the second time that the real world had to get in the way of what I am passionate about.  You see, it can be heartbreaking when that happens. Think about if you’ve been there before yourself.  It feels awful when an opportunity has to be passed up because of your current real world situation, which has nothing to do with your passions or dreams.  How am I supposed to progress towards my passions when I am not free to do so?  Definitely presents a challenge and seriously affected my mood earlier this week.  What’s even worse is that I know I shouldn’t let things affect me the way they do, but I still went to a negative place.

The good news is that I didn’t remain in that negative place for too long.  Not long ago, I would have let this mood affect my whole day (or week), but I didn’t let that happen this time.  Sure, I bitched a little bit… but who doesn’t?  The important part is that I didn’t let it drag on or let my mind take me to even worse places.  I had a few friends reassure me that things were ok and to not give up on my dreams, not to let a blip on the radar get me down.  And you know what?  I listened to them.  Take that brain!  I heard what they had to say and inherently knew they were right, it’s not ok to give up and it’s important to have dreams and passions so that we have something to strive for.  Damn am I glad to have people like them around.  We’re human, our minds can take us to dark places… so it’s good to have people around to bring you back to earth.  I certainly appreciate that.

That's right!

I know that I am a work in progress… aren’t we all?  I have my moments of negativity, but I am glad that I can at least acknowledge and recognize when I go down that road.  When it comes to dreams and goals, Merry’s recent post hit home a little bit and made me think about how I could try to “just be” for now and see where things go.  There is no sense trying to force or rush things and usually you can make yourself more open for what’s to come when your head isn’t clouded with constant thoughts of “gimme now”.  It’s good to remember here that the journey is just as important (or maybe more so!) as the goal – the key is to keep striving for what you believe in and never lose the passion.  So, let’s keep dreaming friends!  ॐ

Have you ever felt like giving up on your dreams?  What keeps you striving for the end goal?

3 thoughts on “Not giving up…

  1. I’m glad that my post resonated with you! I hope you can figure out how to just be. It doesn’t mean giving up your dreams, it just means enjoying where you are now too. Otherwise you realize you missed your whole life focusing on where you’re trying to go.

Leave a Reply

