Flare up…

Just breath Crystal, just breathe.  You can get through this…. don’t let the anger rise up again.

Yep, I’ve had to repeat this to myself a few times today.  Nope, it’s not because it’s a Monday.  Monday’s are usually easier to deal with that this… I’m having a flare up.

Some of you may know, possibly from reading my This Is Me page, that I was a passenger in a head-on car collision due to a drunk driver over 5 years ago.  I’ve been through a lot since then… massage, physio, acupuncture, chiro, counselling, etc., which have all been pretty good to me but sometimes I get these flare ups of pain that just knock me on my ass.  Today is one of those days.  So, on days like these I have to say the line above to myself, sometimes over and over.

I used to get angry.  On days of intense pain, I used to get really angry… sometimes without realizing it.  Angry at the drunk driver.  Angry that he chose to be drinking while driving and heading up that one way street to surprise us.  But, since starting yoga 4 years ago, I’ve become more aware of these feelings and when they come up, and I’d like to think I’ve grown a little better at noticing them and letting them go.  I can’t say that I don’t get that little feeling of anger when this happens, but I definitely let it go a lot easier.  And yes, it does also help to remember that my friend and I were very lucky to have sustained only the injuries we did.

It’s times like these that I am grateful to have found yoga.  I was extremely nervous to try it back then and it took a lot of courage to get in that door – I couldn’t even touch my toes at that time!  I am definitely glad that I had a yoga teacher friend that gave me that extra kick into the door – “there’s no ego in yoga girl, do your own thing!”… best line ever.  Iyengar yoga has be quite important to my healing, due to the aid of props and focus on proper alignment.  Trust me, even now I am glad to have access to those props!  So, on days like today when I am having a flare up – it’s nice to get a massage for relief, but it’s also nice to sit at home and do some restorative poses to help me get through the day (hello Supta Baddha Konasana!).

In the end, it is my hope that if you are sitting there reading this and possibly dealing with chronic pain (or just want to try something new), that you will give yoga a shot.  Be sure to research a great studio and teacher for your needs, this will be very important for helping you to learn what is good for your body in whatever condition it is in.  You’ll learn more body awareness, ways to relax the mind, and start to feel great… and that’s all we really want, isn’t it?  Give it a try, not for me, for you! : )  ॐ

ps. Happy Halloween my lovely readers!

5 thoughts on “Flare up…

  1. I am glad I stopped by, your blog is very inspiring. I am so sorry for your flare ups, and for what you have been through in the last five years:-( Yoga definitely keeps us grounded, and happy! Sending big hugs your way:-) oxox Terra

  2. yoga heals the heart, the mind, and the body. Love to you by dear one. I have no idea how people deal with chronic pain… i am suck a weakling when it comes to that stuff. i can only imagine what you go through… ❤

    • Thanks for the kind words T… ❤ Some days are definitely a struggle and I am honest about them.. thank goodness for the yoga and a good massage therapist!
      Now, shouldn't you be relaxing on a beach somewhere? ;D

Leave a Reply

