Veggie Bean Chili Goodness

Mmmmm fresh veggies!

Yes yes, I am aware that I already have a chili recipe on this blog… but in the fall and winter months I feel so much better when I have warm and comforting meals.  Because of this, I usually need to improvise and play around with the ingredients in my favourites to keep it interesting.  So, while I was sitting in a coffee shop today dreaming up what I would have for supper that would be warm & cozy (since I’m missing out on the traditional turkey dinner this year), I came up with this mixture from what I had in my fridge.  Give it a try, play with the  ingredients, warm up and enjoy!

Ingredients I had on hand:

Veggies – zucchini, asparagus, celery, red onion (as much as you like of each)

Beans – red kidney beans and black beans (if canned, organic with no added preservatives)

Spices – 2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 tsp garlic, 1 tsp cumin, 1 – 2 tsp oregano, dash of sea salt, pepper

2 cups crushed tomatos and 1 cup tomato sauce (also organic, no preservatives)

Optional – I’m throwing in a half cup of long grain brown rice (cooked) just to make it fun

(* I know that using fresh as opposed to canned is much better, but sometimes for the sake of time it is alright, just go for the organic options with no preservatives included.  If you have time, use the original beans or make your own tomato sauce – homemade always tastes great!)

What I did with these ingredients:

In a frying pan add 1 teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil with garlic, chopped red onion, zucchini, and asparagus.  Cook long enough to soften the veggies slightly.

In a pot on medium-low heat add crushed tomatos and tomato sauce with well-rinsed red kidney and black beans, stir.  Add 1 to 2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper (this one depends on taste), cumin, pinch of sea salt, pepper and oregano to taste.  If you like your chili really hot, add some hot sauce of your choice as well to really make it wild!  Add in the veggies from the pan, chopped celery, and cooked rice – stir well to get everything mixed together.  Cover and let simmer for up to an hour to really let the flavours mix together, while also enjoying the smell going through the house to make it feel warm and cozy.  Serve with garnishes of your choice – I like some sprinkled goat’s feta on top, but a drop of sour cream or shredded cheddar might do as well if you have no issues with lactose.  Feel the warmth from this delicious chili and enjoy! 🙂  ॐ

Delicious and comforting! : )

(Please note that this recipe can also be made in a crock pot, throw all the ingredients in and cook on low for 8 hours – oh how I miss my crock pot!  * Also, you’ll notice this chili is missing a popular ingredient – red/green peppers.  I have omitted them due to recent reactions as a result of eating them.  If you don’t have reactions to peppers, certainly add them in.)

Do you have a favourite comfort food for fall/winter?

6 thoughts on “Veggie Bean Chili Goodness

  1. Oh, that looks yummy! I make a similar chili and have a hankering now that fall has arrived. I grab whatever veggies on hand, beans, tomatoes, & handfuls of spices. I serve it over rice, tortilla chips, potatoes, or chunks of vegan corn bread. Mmmmm!

Leave a Reply

