Healthier-style Wings

Today’s food post was inspired by Meghan Telpner’s #questionoftheday on twitter on Wednesday, where she asked: “What’s your fave ‘fast-food’ made healthy?”

Anyone who knows me, knows that I used to be a fast-food junkie.  I was unhealthy in my eating choices years ago and I could never get enough of cheap, bad-for-you foods that were prepared quick.  Trust me, I am glad I learned my lesson as my body feels and looks better now than it ever did during those times.  But, I still find myself searching for the old comfort in those foods, especially on cold days or during sporting events.  So, when my friend said we should make some healthier wings one night for watching hockey, I was intrigued (he’s usually got good ideas).  We whipped these up and waited patiently for them to be ready and now I am hooked!  Give them a try, you may even enjoy them a little more than the greasy kinds from fast-food places, I know I do.

Healthier-style Wings

Ingredients:

Chicken legs & wings (grain fed, locally purchased is best if possible)

Extra virgin olive oil

Sea salt & pepper

1/2 Lemon

Instructions:

Toss the chicken wings/legs (amount depending on how many you are cooking for) in a bowl and add 2 – 4 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil (depends on the amount of wings).  Toss them around a little bit and then add 1 – 2 teaspoons of sea salt and your desired amount of pepper.  Toss around some more to get the wings coated well.

Set oven to 350/375 F (depending on your oven), add the coated wings to a pan making sure to have a little room in between them, spritz some lemon on them for a little flavour.  Bake for about 45 mins, if you like a little crunch broil them for a minute or two at the end and then enjoy!!  (This may sound weird, but I also like to toss the wings onto some sheets of paper towel just to get off any extra oil before eating them, not necessary but just something I like to do). 🙂

These are super easy and great for sharing while watching sports with friends!  Give them a try and let me know what you think!  ॐ

(I apologize for the lack of a picture, but I ate them up so fast the last time I made them I forgot to snap a pic! You also know how bad I am at food photography haha!  I’ll add a pic the next time I make them for sure!)

3 thoughts on “Healthier-style Wings

  1. skip the olive oil… I bread mine in corn flake crumbs (season to taste)… 400 degrees for 30-40 minutes…. crunchy delish 🙂 let me know how the lemon pepper turns out!

Leave a Reply

