My second 5K race

Before the race

As my alarm went off at 6:30 this morning, I thought to myself “why on a Sunday, why?”.  It’s my one day off from work, why would I do this to myself?!

Well, back in February I signed up for a 10K race in today’s Calgary Marathon event when I was in some kind of crazy mood or under the influence.  Not totally sure why I did it.  Either way, I recently switched down to the 5K for some personal reasons and shortly after I had some realizations that lead to this post.

For those who don’t know me, my mornings are never without a little adventure.  I woke up extra early for the race knowing that travel time would take a bit longer due to many detours for the marathon.  Since I travel by my own two feet and transit, I wanted to be prepared for any slow downs I might encounter.  And without fail, I encountered a hiccup with transit detours that weren’t actually listed on their website – even the bus driver was told she could go down a certain street they had blocked off!  Oh well… improvise.  Run out into traffic, run to get train, switch to another train and then I’m back on track and on my way to the race!  Then… I end up arriving super early somehow.  Regardless, it was nice to get there and see the excitement going on and runners coming in even before my race started.

Many people were there with family, friends, and partners, but I was on my own.  Before the race, I chatted with two other gals who were there alone as well, nice to know I wasn’t the only one without a supporter today (but then it turns out after that a friend was waiting for me to finish – so nice of Diane!!).  It felt a little lonely at times not having anyone at the race to cheer me on as I started, but that’s ok, I just focused on having fun and enjoying the excitement.

I finished in 36.01, which I am ok with… but not ecstatic about.  I told myself I’d be happy if I did it in

After the race!

under 40 minutes while having fun, which is what happened.  Would have been nice to get 35 minutes… but I have to stop that chatter in my head!  I must focus on how I kept a good pace, didn’t cramp up, didn’t get cranky, and just enjoyed running with the other people.  Why must I let ego get into it?

In the end, it was a very fun morning and great to grab a delicious breakfast afterwards with my friend Diane (she did the 10K).  A nice reward after a race!  Later today, a friend asked me how I felt about running now, and well, I still hate it.  But, I find the events are super fun with a great crowd, so I think I will stick to 5K’s for now, no need to force myself into longer distances that I will just resent.  Because that’s what it’s all about right?  Fun!!  Congrats to all the runners and walkers today!  ॐ

3 thoughts on “My second 5K race

  1. Well done! Great to read about your 5km, and it is about fun and just enjoying being outside and running! I guess there will always be ego-chatter about times, that is until we stop running with watches 🙂

Leave a Reply

