Running: Not for Me

I hate running.

There I said it. (Ok, so I’ve said and thought it many times, but this time I wrote it out loud… so to speak.)

Every time I go for a run, whether it’s outside or on a treadmill, I just can’t stop thinking about how much I don’t enjoy the activity.

So, why do I do it?  It’s not about exercise to me, as there are many other activities I could be doing to stay active.  The thing is, is that I am trying to make myself like this activity, even though in my mind I simply don’t and never have.  I’m the kind of gal who likes low impact activities, such as yoga (of course!), biking, walking, and curling – and I am starting to realize that this is ok!  I don’t have to love running just because others do and I certainly don’t have to run a marathon just to feel part of something.  I’m running a 5k at the end of this month and through my training I’ve decided that this distance is good for me.  It’s taken me quite some thought to get to this point, but as a result of some reflection I’ve also realized that this running situation is a metaphor for other things in my life.

At Steamwhistle in Toronto

In my personal life I am also trying to force myself to like things for some unknown reasons (or, perhaps deep down they are known, but not obvious to me yet).  I’m trying to make myself like certain jobs or places to live, even though my gut still knows this is wrong.

Why do we do this to ourselves?

Why bother to force ourselves to like jobs, cities, people, etc. that we know in our hearts we don’t care for?  What purpose does it serve?  I’m trying to figure this out for myself right now, but it’s a slow process. Are there others I am trying to keep happy?  Why would I neglect myself?  So many questions and no clear answers readers!

I know it’s all part of the process, and yes, I would like answers sooner than later but  at least some of these realizations are coming to me.  I know that I want change, but as I may have mentioned before, I’ve lost what I really wanted in the past few years.  I’ve sort of followed others’ dreams and forgot my own – not a good place to be in, trust me!

So, here I am, lost in this world and seeking answers – thank you in advance for reading along the ride! 🙂  ॐ

Have you ever been a little (or a lot) lost, looking to be found?  What sort of strategies help you?

11 thoughts on “Running: Not for Me

  1. At 41 there are many things I do that aren’t always my first choice but usually b/c they are the result of some life choice I’ve made ( marriage, elves). However, having said that I am a firm believer in not doing something just b/c you feel like you “should.” You will end up regreting it and not using the time for something you “want to do.”

    So if you don’t like the places you live or the jobs and you aren’t tied down start investigating places to go/work. Now is the time and embrace the exploration with excitement! Good luck

    p.s. we all have these questions, good for you for asking them out loud

    • You are not kidding about the regretting part, but I guess the key right now is to acknowledge these feelings and move on and get ready to explore. Thank you 🙂

  2. Love this post. It’s clear, concise, yet appropriately personal, and it addresses a big issue we all face at one time or another (or many). Wish I had some sage advice to contribute, but I don’t. I’ve recently come to realization that running isn’t for me either. I ran a couple 5Ks last year, but lately my knee has been a little pained in some asanas, and I’d rather protect it for yoga than push it to the limit in running – so, running isn’t for me either. It’s so funny how we feel like we have to make explanations to ourselves, isn’t it?

    • So true! I know I’ve had to explain myself many times, while inside usually not believing what I am saying out loud. Doesn’t feel good inside, that’s for sure.

  3. You just have to be brutally honest with yourself, you know what needs to be done (or not done), it’s in you… sometimes it needs some coaxing to come out 🙂

  4. […] Well, back in February I signed up for a 10K race in today’s Calgary Marathon event when I was in some kind of crazy mood or under the influence.  Not totally sure why I did it.  Either way, I recently switched down to the 5K for some personal reasons and shortly after I had some realizations that lead to this post. […]

  5. […] for a race in the spring – didn’t do so well – and then I declared that I hated everything about running. Makes me laugh now because I love getting out there and I definitely love the atmosphere at the […]

Leave a Reply

