The Power of My Movement

Participant Profiles guest post for the Power of Movement Calgary Blog – Thanks again POMYYC for giving me the chance to write a post and explain to everyone why I’m taking part in the POM!! 🙂

I don’t have arthritis, but my grandmother does.

I personally do not know anyone under the age of 60 suffering from this disease, but I know it can affect individuals of all ages.

I have seen, in the past, how arthritis can affect one’s body and quality of life and some of the drastic measures that can be taken to manage the pain.  Because of these reasons, and more, I am participating in the Power of Movement (POM) in Calgary on February 27th.

I’ll admit, I was first attracted to the POM because of the yoga, but as I researched the event more I realized how important this nation-wide challenge is for raising funds and awareness about arthritis and auto-immune disease.  Most individuals may not be aware that there are many different types of this disorder, which can affect both young and old alike.  To be honest, even I was a little surprised about how many conditions are listed under arthritis, which only made me think about how many people are probably out there suffering today.

No, I don’t have arthritis, but I do suffer with chronic pain in my neck.  I am aware that this is not the same thing, but I believe that my condition does help me to understand a little better what many people out there may be going through.  I know it can be a battle everyday with pain and your emotions, while you’re always wondering how to make it all go away.  Plus, if I’m not careful, I could eventually develop arthritis in my cervical spine and I know that I would want all the un-invasive, non-drastic help that I could get.  Either way, it would be nice to know that research is being done and awareness being spread throughout the country in events, such as the Power of Movement.

My love for yoga is very strong, as it has helped me immensely with my chronic pain and the journey that has gone along with it for the past 5 years.  The poses, the movements, and the great teachers I have met along the way have been there and helped me when I needed it most.  That’s why I find this event so fitting for the cause… yoga keeps you moving and that’s what we’re striving to do – and hopefully, somewhere along the way, become pain free!

So, I encourage you to take part in POM for a $5 sign-up fee or sponsor someone you know that is involved.  Every little bit counts for those suffering, so let’s help those we know, those we don’t, and maybe even ourselves someday.  Thank you and see you on February 27th!  Namaste.  ॐ

Leave a Reply

