Emotional Eating

Hello, my name is Crystal, and I am an emotional eater.  Yes, this is an admission.  I am admitting this now because I actually believed that I wasn’t.  Years ago, I KNEW that I was an emotional eater, but I thought that – after many life and diet changes – I had worked through this and moved onto “greener pastures”.

My realization came shortly after reading Joy McCarthy’s post about emotional eating.  Her articles are easy to read and insightful and what she said in this particular article really resonated with me.  It took me a few days to admit it, that is for sure.  I had thought that I had changed.  I thought I was healthier and more in control now.  And well, for the most part, I am.  But I thought about it and realized some situations where I would “emotionally eat”.  For example, I could have a really bad day at work and by the time I got home, I convinced myself that I deserved and cookie for what I had put up with for the day.  Or, on other occasions I might think that I deserved some potato chips for my hard, and unrewarded, work.  Either way, not the best method for making myself feel better after a rough day/week at work.

My other problem in this situation is that I will eat it if it is in front of me.  I don’t buy cookies, but the people I live with do.  So, I can come home from a difficult day and the cookies are there, and I will eat them.  If they weren’t there, I wouldn’t go out of my way to get any; I’ll just snack on something else (ie., fruit or hummus and multigrain nacho chips).

Since I can’t stop those I live with from buying and eating cookies, I need to get back in control.  I can’t “reward” myself with cookies any longer after tough weekdays.  I need to stop eating emotionally as it’s not helping me in any way (in fact, it could be making me feel worse due to sugar spikes and drops).

So, here you are, at the start of this journey with me; maybe even wondering if you also eat emotionally.  As I learn more about nutrition and the body, I hope to understand emotional eating even more and to let go if it myself (or if anything, eat healthier things when I’m feeling stressed).   ॐ

One thought on “Emotional Eating

Leave a Reply

