Summer of Running

running_quit_quote.png

(pic credit: unknown)

Well, it’s more like the summer-and-fall of running, but you get the idea. Yep, this year I am participating in more races than I have in total since I started running in 2009. Why? I’m not so sure, but I think I’ve got the running bug. Plus, I believe it’s all preparation for my big, crazy goal – my first Half Marathon!

Ever since I ran the GoodLife 5K in May, I’ve had the bug. After that race, I remember thinking about what my next race goal would be and I had originally decided on an 8K in October. I thought that at my pace and endurance level, that was going to be the best I could do this year. Then I don’t know what hit me, but I decided I was going to run 21.1K in October instead. Most of the time I feel good about this goal, other times I freak out and can’t imagine running that far. It’s a roller coaster ride of emotions and confidence when it comes to this sport for me. All I can hope is that I’m not alone. And all I can do is my best. I’m aiming for a finish time between 2:15-2:30, which I believe to be reasonable but I also don’t want to put too much pressure on myself for my first Half. I’m training and sticking to a plan as best as I can, and really, that’s all I can do.

So, here’s the plan for the summer of running:

5K on August 16 (really just interested in doing this for fun)

10K on August 23 (going to be my first 10K distance race!)

15K on September 20 (first one for this distance & for charity)

21.1K on October 19 (the big day!)

I think it’s a pretty good line up of races that also coincides with my training relatively well. Keeping in mind my training for the big day on October 19, I probably won’t go super hard for the 15K on September 20 – I want to do well, but I don’t want to stress/strain/injure myself before my bigger goal. I’m aware of this and planning for it, so I won’t have any let downs in regards to time on September 20.

Needless to say, I’m pretty excited about this line up for this summer. Usually I’ve only done one race per season, so this is a big step for me (5 in total from May – Oct)! I’m really challenging myself to go the distance (literally!) this year, which of course comes with some fears but also with excitement. Lots to learn this summer as I train, which I’m hoping will make me an even better runner for next year’s season!

How many races have you signed up for this summer? Any big goals?

8 thoughts on “Summer of Running

  1. Looks like a great plan! I was thinking of signing up for some races these coming months before my first half as well… it was pretty lackluster around my area this summer, so I’m hoping I’ll find some 5ks + 10ks around Fall.

    Best of luck! Can’t wait to hear about your races!

Leave a Reply

